ART EXPLOSION WEEK 42: NO THEME | Purple Mermaid (An Entry)

in #artexplosion6 years ago

First of all I wanna thank @juliakponsford for a great opportunity, another contest that would challenge artists of steemit to explore their imaginations. Click here to view her post.

This is my entry:

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_201530.jpg

This week's Art Explosion Contest has no theme. And because of that, I decided to do a portrait of a mermaid because for now, drawing and painting portraits is my comfort zone. This is an artwork inspired by the works of various artists that I followed on instagram. I always see mermaid art posts on my instagram feed and I just love them because they are just so magical to look at at.

Materials

IMG_20180705_133121.jpg

All photos are mine and I used my Oppo A37 in taking these pictures. And the materials that I used were:
✔️ Pentel Arts Color Pencils
✔️ White Pen
✔️ Water
✔️ Tissue
✔️ Watercolor set
✔️ Paintbrushes
✔️ Eraser
✔️ HB Staedtler pencil
✔️ Berkeley watercolor pad
✔️ 0.3 Dong-A Fine Tech Pen

Process

IMG_20180706_173018.jpg

I did the sketch. At first I was trying to do a whole body drawing of a mermaid but when I finished painting it, I didn't like how it turned out. So I drew a new one, now it's a close up portrait.

IMG_20180706_175652.jpg

Then I applied base colors on her hair and skin...

IMG_20180706_184222.jpg

... and brows, cheeks, and lips. After that, I applied another layer of watercolor on her hair and I did some detailing on her skin, where the shadows should be at.

IMG_20180706_190019.jpg

Then I applied color to her eyes. I then continued layering colors on her hair. The funny thing is that I forgot to draw her left ear. I think you noticed. But still I found a way to paint her left ear later on. Her ears were supposed to be of the same color as her skin but when I painted her left ear of course the color wouldn't be the same as in her right ear.

IMG_20180706_193550.jpg

So I darkened her right ear. The next thing I did was adding the other important details such as her lashes, brows, colors on her lids, lips, and scales using color pencils. But before I drew her scales, I painted watercolor first. I also applied color to her pendant. And then I did some line art using a 0.3 Fine Tech Pen.

IMG_20180706_200230.jpg

Then a few addition of dark colors on the shadows, highlighting, and background painting, and I'm done.

GIF of the process


I made this GIF in giphy.com. Link to my GIF in giphy.

Final Product

LRM_EXPORT_20180706_201530.jpg

This photo was edited using Adobe Lightroom CC


This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Sort:  

Very nice 😍😍😍

Congrats!

Your post has been featured on @bayanihan's curation initiative - giving a 100% upvote. We aim to motivate deserving Filipino authors by giving them the right value of rewards.

Thank you so much!

Grubeeh grubeeh!! Hahaha. Lrj naman jud kwen ahaha :D

ahahaha pwede na?

Oo uy, ahaha. Lrj jud ning dasig kaayu 😂


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

very pretty mermaid, kwenkwen <3 love the step by step also ! i like her lips and nose <3 you do highlights very well !

Thanks hehehehe ^_^

Halatang gusto mo ang ginagawa mo. Talagang napakagandang talento sa pagguhit/pag-pinta. :)

Yep! Maraming salamat po.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86