A monument for women artist - artexplosion and needleworkmonday combo

in #artexplosion6 years ago

Design ohne Titel(60).png

It is molten Henrietta, run!
77 cm x 50 cm
Wood, brushes, acrylic paint, and yarn


Women are soft and pink and delicate. They are caring and nurturing. They are so emotional, connected to nature and life on the deepest level. They are fragile and need a defender. Their tiny hands can work small and intricate patterns of flowers and hate. Entangled in strings of beauty, and thinness and youth and stupidity and meekness. Holdings hands with other women to stop them to rise and to revolt. Oh, so great is our task of emotional labour, but who pays for it? All the abuse and oppression are painted pink.

Design ohne Titel(63).png


The context
For centuries needlework and fiber art are deemed as women’s work, but not in an appreciating manner but as in describing a lesser art: An occupation of idle rich women who do not know how to kill their leisure time – an occupation for the fragile woman with slender white hands whose delicate nature does not allow her to participate fully in life. A beauty creating beauty. Needlework is seen as a craft instead of an art (and with this devaluing crafts). A work that can be done at home, where the fragile woman is hidden from the world. So many stereotypes connected with fabric, wool and needles. Up today I know men who would be ashamed to be seen in public while knitting or crocheting. They feel that these techniques rob them of masculinity.
Although these limiting ideas of femininity and art are slowly overturning with many great artist and writers who tackle this topic they are still present. The bevor mentioned stereotypical image of a woman doing needlework encases so many lines of discrimination (sexism, ageism, racism, ableism, and classism) it is frightening me. Therefore, my sculpture.

Design ohne Titel(65).png


The explanation of the artwork
The disrupted texture of crochet which sprawls unhindered like the unshaved hair on female legs. The pink turning neon and by this becoming visible and loud instead of soft and meek. The broken and worn brushes which show that art (or craft) is always work, persistence, force, and fight, independent of sex and gender of the artist. The wooden post with splinters which symbolises the many women (and naturally also men and people who define themselves in other ways) who already have fight for my many rights today.
I have built a sceptre to celebrate the freedom of choosing which role we follow. To show that female qualities are qualities which female defining people show. There are no set rules, we create them. Perhaps my work is also an umbrella which protects women from all the opposing demands of being a mother, a worker, a lover, a beauty, demands of staying at home or going out, of wearing heels but not too high… you get the point.

Design ohne Titel(64).png


How I did it
As I love challenges and hard work (that’s a lie, I am lazy, and I am still angry that I have chosen this time-consuming medium) I decided to work with many different materials and with crochet which needs so much more time/work than a painting (for me).

I started with a wooden bar in which I drilled holes for the old brushes I used as limbs for the sculpture. I secured the brushes additionally with glue.

Design ohne Titel(57).png


The next step was painting this wooden object which I have done in several layers, the last being the ornamentation.

Design ohne Titel(58).png


During the last week I have made the freeform crochet. The sculpture consists of three main pieces, which I crocheted separately and attached after everything was dried and finished. The crochet develops out of spiral forms and I used the characteristic of crochet which allows the fabric to grow into many directions and to become three dimensional. I created the pattern while working and one stitch led to another. To lend the fabric a maximum of structure I used puff stitches, fans, and bullion stitches.

Design ohne Titel(61).png


The connections between the wooden limbs and the different pieces of crochet are made from chains I crocheted directly into the sculpture. This also applies to the smaller fragments of crochet fabric in between the bigger ones (remind me to never do this again, because I had numb arms afterwards)
As I hate to sew in the ends I forced bribed begged my good friend Silvia Szlapka to help me and because of her being a really lovely person (and a wonderful artist as you can see for yourself at her website) she helped me. Her work is all neatly sewn in yarn-ends, the cute little pompoms, and the photos.

Design ohne Titel(62).png


I also want to thank @shanibeer for her inspiration to work with freeform crochet (go visit her blog, to see more knitting, crochet, and art) and @girlbeforemirror who reminded me that we all have obstacle to overcome. I want to thank @juliakponsford for hosting the #artexplosion contest which encourages me to widen my artistic horizon. And naturally I want to thank the great needlework community (and @crosheille who nurses it) who helps me to go on although my head or my fingers hurt. Who encourage me with supporting, intelligent, lovely, and funny comments.
Thank you so much <3


This is my #artexplosion entry theme: no theme and simultaneously this is my #needleworkmonday post (my hands need rest, I will continue with the sweater post next Monday :-D)


By the way, if you want to buy one of my artworks, feel free to contact me over comments, steemit mail or my website. I highly appreciate fame and money :-D


needleworkmonday.png


Want to see more_Follow me neumannsalvaor visithttp___neumannsalva.de_(1).png

Sort:  

I have never tried free form crochet @neumannsalva...
The subject matter of your piece is very powerful and I think it's also up to us women to educate the future generations so they see things differently...

You are right and as I have no children, I hope that my art and blog posts can reach some people and change the situation for the better. I have the impression that art can be a good catalyst (I made some performances/dance theatre plays with related topics). In personal discussions people often are more in a defence mode, while with the artwork/play they can take a step away and think about it without having to show openly an opinion. ... But who knows, perhaps I simply love art :-D

Thank you for the complement <3

HI @neumannsalva, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Fiber Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here

Join us on Mondays for Creatives' Coffee Hour at 1pm EDT in the Steemit Ramble on Discord or view it life on Rambling Radio.

Uiiiii happy! Thank you so much for including me (sadly on Monday evening I am mostly to exhausted and with migraines to participate in the coffee hour, but I so appreciate your curation and support)
❤️

Wow!! What a powerful and beautifully displayed sculpture and post you’ve got here!! I love the meaning and reasoning behind what you did. Thank you for representing Handmade “art” in such a lovely way as you have done. The sculpture speaks deeply and is a very passionate display of the work of many artists/crafters.

I love all of the photos! Thank you for sharing some of the process with us! You are so creative and I love how you express yourself and how you do YOU! I wish you well with the competition!!! ❤️😘 Thank you for the shoutout!! I am amazed every week with what you all post for #NeedleWorkMonday!! ☺️

P.S. Congratulations on the Curie upvote!! 😃 As @shanibeer stated it is well deserved my dear!! 🎉

Juppy! I am still jumping a litttle bit, because of the curie vote :-DDD And I am still grateful, that you started this initiative. As I have written perhaps many times, because of my health problems it is so helpful for me to have a fixed date to finish a project and people who appreciate my sometimes - ahem - weird ideas, as I no longer can move around so freely.
I hope your recovery is on the way and you are well cared for ❤️❤️❤️

Heee heeee!! I’d still be jumping too lol!! Awww of course...I’m just amazed at what the initiative has helped accomplish. 😃☺️ I’m so happy it has motivated you to finish your projects. Yay!!

Thank you! I am recovering really well and my husband has been off of work to help care for me and the kids. I’m gonna be lost for awhile when he goes back lol.

You should add your so delicately written yet powerfully driven write ups because I would save up for those.
This is definitely an interesting way of explaining the breaking off of women from stereotypical expectations. I love your art work and the fact that you explained why it is why it is is just double joy for me. It is amazing to look and @Silvia Szlapka has a way of portraying your emotions in her photographs. Really well done. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you so much for your kind words and it is always encouraging to hear that my explanation made kind of sense. It is not always easy for me to explain the weird images and ideas I have in my brain :-D
It is especially important to hear feedback here from my fellow art and craft women.

I hope you got your sewing order done (without to much stress)?

And I will send Silvia your compliments <3

Fabulous! It is so interesting the way that collaboration is taking place!

Mainly I made her very nervous...because I wanted it to be finished on Saturday :-DDD (I am kidding) I really hate these yarn ends, and believe me there were so many. And Silvi was super helpful!!! I am still curious to see your freefrom or spiral sweater.

Wow! The sculpture is really out of this world @neumannsalva, the way you combined the different forms of art together in 1 art piece, really nice! How did you come up with this idea? Your mind is amazing. Good luck on the contest!

Thank you so much for your kind words! I have no real idea how my mind works :-D
I very often have fragments of images, feelings, or movements in my mind which I then try to relocate into the real world. It is always a convergence process. I try to find the adequate medium to let the audience/observer feel what I had in mind... Perhaps I am not so good in explaining this, sorry. But I am happy you liked the sculpture <3

Wow all the words in this post are very powerful, I especially loved this: Their tiny hands can work small and intricate patterns of flowers and hate.

I find it interesting that crafts are devalued as you say. Sailors often used to knit to pass the time and crochet can also be a valuable tool for making nets and hammocks and lots of other things. But there is a stigma for men doing these things now, silly.

Beautiful art as always with beautiful words <3

Thank you so much for the compliments!! And thank you for your contest. I am a deadline worker and having these two weekly deadlines helps me to stay focused.
At first I was a bit angry with your "no theme" theme :-DDD I thought: “I will give her 'no theme'. I will make something absolutely incomprehensible.” But then I was so exalted with all the connections and allusions of this fiber art... I think I will stick with this medium for longer :-D
And you are right, gender roles are still very strict in some communities and I always must stop myself to argue over alleged male or female attributes. Your crafting fisher being one of them. Or the colour pink which was an indicator for Jesus Christus (as a young male, because the male colour was red in the late middle ages). Right now, I have several friends who refuse to dress their baby boys with pink, because for them it’s a woman colour and will make the babies gay (ahhhhhhhh.... hear me scream) They won’t/ can’t understand how arbitrarily and changeable these attributes are (never mind that these attributes do/say nothing about one’s sex/gender/orientation)
Perhaps it is better if I make art, if not I would kill (ok, not kill, but be a permanently angry debater)
Sorry for the long comment
Actually, I wanted to say thank you :-D
Thank you

At first I was a bit angry with your "no theme" theme :-DDD I thought: “I will give her 'no theme'.

Hahahaha, awesome, well in the end you sure showed me because it was pretty amazing!

And you are right, gender roles are still very strict in some communities and I always must stop myself to argue over alleged male or female attributes.

I agree with this and everything after, its all culturally engrained, I wonder how long it will take us to stop worrying about petty nonsense like who should wear what colour, there are much more important things to worry about!

Wow this is just amazing! This is by far the most creative thing I have ever seen done with crochet. And the intention and meaning behind it, coupled with your beautiful post - this is a work of art on so many levels :)

Much love - Carl

Thank you so much for the kind words <3
I must admit I am also quite happy with it. It's my first fiber art sculpture, but now I am hooked (I know, not the best pun :-D ) Till today I only made a painting in which I integrated embroidery and one with crochet, the rest are traditional paintings.
And with the topic... It is for a longer time important to me (I made performances and dance theatre plays which are related to this topic) and as I wrote above to @juliakponsford I still can get a tad angry about all the stereotypes surrounding sex and gender.

But overall: thank you reading and commenting (so nice :-D)

Wow!! What a cool sculpture!
And you are right, women are capable of so much more than we can imagine. Good luck on the contest!

Thank you for your support!!! But I sadly did not win - buuuut I was chosen by @curie. So, I am happily jumping up and down

Hi neumannsalva,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You made my day great! Thank you so much for choosing my post and thank you for all your work!

Congratulations! Well deserved!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11