Lauren Jauregui Fan Art Watercolor Portrait | My Watercolor Journey 04

in #artguildph6 years ago


thumbnail lauren watercolor.png

Hello Steemians! This post is an update on my watercolor art series that I started here on Steemit about 2 weeks ago. This my 4th artwork using watercolors. But this time, I took it to the next level, I painted a portrait.

I know it is not easy to make portraits specially using watercolors. But I have to challenge myself and take my game one step further to achieve the goal that I want.

I decided to make a portrait of one of my celebrety crushes, LAUREN JAUREGUI.

Image Source


Image Source

I am in love with this girl, from the moment she took a step onto the X- Factor stage and heard her sing up until today. Every time I see her emerald eyes. My heart melts. If it we'rent for @aboutart , I'd marry her. LOL.

But sorry Lolo, you're too late, I'm already taken.

And if to tell you the truth I'm a big fan of #CAMREN . I've never ship any celebrity couples harder than camren. But Camila broke my heart when she left Fifth Harmony.

But men and women are still drooling over her specially when she performs on stage and stares at you in the sexiest way.

And my heart flipped when she admitted that she was bisexual cause I thought my chances of dating Lauren went from 0% to 1% when in reality that would never happen. But that's okay, I'm fine loving herfrom afar.

Haha. Okay enough with the fangirling. Here's the step by step process


Process

So first thing to do is set up your tools. I always prepare all the things I needed before painting so that I can paint in ease. I am encouraging everyone to do the same and you'll notice that you'll finish your work faster cause all you needed ia right in front of you and you'll never have to stand up, well unless you gotta to go to the bathroom. I think you should consider that first.

3.png

Material I used

  • Watercolor paper | Fabriano Cold Pressed 200 grams
  • Cheap set of watercolor palette
  • Assorted Paint brushes
  • Masking tape
  • Cup of water
  • Tissue
  • Unipin pen 0.7 / 0.2
  • White Gel Pen

Sketching

I drew the outline of Lauren's face using some grid lines.

You can also try to draw with the help of grid lines to make it easier and accurate for you. Don't be afraid to use grid lines, it is not cheating. It is the best way to make portraits, specially if you are a beginner.

0a.png

Just make sure to erase those lines afterwards. And as mush as possible make the sketch as light as you can but enough for you to see the lines.

1a.png


Painting

Before I painting, I grab a masking tape and taped the borders. And then I started painting with the lightest tone first.
4.png

Then I go darker and darker.
5.png

I really don't know how to paint portraits using watercolors so I don't have any "do's don'ts rule" yet when it comes to this type of medium, so I decided to stick to what my guts says. Haha

6.png

7.png

On this image you'll see that I added some more red into the skin tone cause I feel that it is too flat.

8.png

And I forgot to take pictures for a bit cause I get carried away. Haha.

So on this photo, I've already used a pen to draw the outlines of the face and facial features. I also started to paint the background. But it was getting late so I decided to finish it the next day.

9.png

On this photo, you can see that I'm almost finish with the background.
And sorry for the blurry pictures. My phone is broken so I used an old camera to take picture of these and I really had a hard time using it.

10.png

On this one, you'll see that I already colored her eyes and the paint is completely dry. So took off the masking tapes and use the pens to draw the outlines again. I also used a white gel pen to give a shine effect on her eyes.
And of course it will not be completed without my signature.

11.png

And it is done.

12.png

Here is the full image of my new watercolor painting.
lauren watercolor portrait.png

And that is it guys. Hope you like it. I know, I still have a lot to learn when it comes to watercolors. But that is the purpose of this series, and I really hope that I could learn along with you guys. Thank you so much for reading my post.

MARAMING SALAMAT PO!!!


CHECK OUT MY OTHER RECENT POSTS TOO!!!

9 WATERCOLOR METHODS AND TECHNIQUES TO TRY | My Watercolor Journey #03

Fan Art | What Does The Music Video "THIS IS AMERICA" by Childish Gambino Means? | @sethlinson PORTRAIT CONTEST ENTRY | 20 SBD IN PRIZES


BTCADDRESS.png

trishy.png

DQmcXxDKUBngM7cZnD5gduZBUS5KjaAg86REhV6Ax5EJAwv.png

"This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34