Lemons on the table. Writing a still-life with oil paints

in #artist6 years ago (edited)

Hello, dear readers of the community @Steemit!

With you @yatsuk.kostia Today I will show the process of writing still life with oil paints. The composition on my picture is as simple as possible - I decided to paint juicy lemons on a wooden table.

For the drawing, I used a primed canvas on cardboard, oil paints Master-class and Ladoga, synthetic brushes (five and two), a bristle brush (ten).

1.1524551373.jpg

A step-by-step process
First, I outline the contours of the future still life with a pencil. Pencil is better to choose hard, as soft pencils leave too greasy lines and dirty the canvas.

2.1524551403.jpg

Then I start to draw the background. For this I use ocher, umber, brown shades and purple for shadows. The paint is applied with a wide bristle brush, which, due to its stiffness, leaves on the canvas lines imitating the texture of the tree.

3.1524552695.jpg

With the same wide bristle brush I cover the central objects of the drawing with the primary colors.

Lemons paint over with a clean yellow paint from the tube, and mix it a bit with the English red. I also cover the leaves with emerald green in a mixture with blue cobalt.

As already understood, the subbase (the first layer) of the picture is dark, and the lighter shades (including glare) will be applied already at subsequent stages.

4.1524552713.jpg

I'm starting to draw. I take a small synthetic brush and alternate light and dark tones "point-like" imitate the friability of the lemon peel.

For light lemon tones, I used cadmium lemon and cadmium yellow light, for dark tones - English red and ultramarine violet.

5.1524552721.jpg

In the same way I paint the texture on the other lemons. I try to draw lemons is not identical, so that the picture as a whole does not seem boring and monotonous.

Each lemon has its own "character", transmitted by color, saturation, the location of shadows, features.

In the first session, the paint does not lie very tightly, the picture seems a little pale and inaccurate. Therefore, as soon as all the items in the picture are more or less outlined, I leave the picture a little dry until the next day.

At the next session, oil paints are much better "seized" with the canvas and you can walk through the painting with finishing strokes. Once again I prescribe a porous texture on lemons, I compact the shade with a purple ultramarine.

Titanic whitens put glare on the fruit, especially on the most lighted areas.

I prescribe the texture of the tree. I mix brown paint with blue cobalt and a fine brush, I paint bands and curls that imitate natural "patterns" of wood. I alternate dark lines with light ones, mixing ocher with white.

Finally, I prescribe leaflets of lemon lying on the edge of the table. Light sections of the leaves - a mixture of cadmium lemon with emerald green paint, dark - a mixture of cadmium blue and purple ultramarine. Whitewash loosely on the leaf edge.

Still life is ready!

When the picture is completely dry (about 4-5 days), it can be covered with a thin layer of damaging varnish for gloss and brightness. In the meantime, I leave such a more peaceful option.

1.1524551373.jpg

Sort:  

mad skills! 👊

Автор ворует чужие работы, выдавая их за свои!!!!
Картина моя, фото в качестве доказательства

This author steals another's works!!!
This is my picture, photo as evidence.

Пост выложен мной 20 дней назад https://golos.io/vp-painting/@vp-painting/limony-na-stole-pishem-natyurmort-maslyanymi-kraskami

at the first when I click this post, I thought these are photographs.... but, after reading this post I am amazed.... this is a perfect painting.... you are very talented... good luck... keep it up your talented work...

Congratulations @yatsuk.kostia! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

молодой человек, зачем вы нагло воруете мои работы?? хотите попасть под статью? https://golos.io/vp-painting/@vp-painting/limony-na-stole-pishem-natyurmort-maslyanymi-kraskami

!cheetah ban

For blatant plagiarism of another Steemian

Hey get 1000 Followers and 30 Upvote

just to try our new service check it out CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87