[CR] The Gekko Bot

in #artisteem5 years ago

Artwork Image

This peculiar alien robot has an interesting past related to me, thanks to him I was the one who met Luis Fernando Tirano, the person who introduced me to the world of graphic design. In 2006 I had the opportunity to attend a screening of anime movies, at the time known as La Cinemateca de Corpoindustria in Maracay. This event was prepared by the digital magazine Gekko Magazine, and the main reason for this was to promote a small comic produced by them called "EXODUS GENERATION" in which the mascot of the magazine, the Gekko Bot, was illustrated on the cover .

At that time I met the editor of the magazine, Mr. Luis Fernando Tirano, to whom I showed my portfolio of drawings and he gave me a printed copy of the comic they were promoting along with a business card, where the address of the editorial. With the passage of time I decided to go through its facilities to learn more about the publisher; Just on the day I went, Luis Fernando and José Sánchez, the illustrator of the comic, had a discussion in which they ended up on bad terms and with José abandoning the project.

POnce I was aware of that fact, I offered Luis my services as a cartoonist to continue with the comic; I did not want the first comic printed in Maracay to be canceled after its first publication, we discussed the subject, and we agreed to do a reboot of the entire publication telling a new story richer in plot, epic, ambitious and much more attached to ideas that Luis wanted to see embodied in the final product; which were not carried out by creative discussions that he had with Mr. José; and at that moment I began to sketch a new proposal of the characters, focusing mainly on the Gekko bot using the illustration made by José.

Separadores para Web-01.png

Comparative with previous design

original vs mi propuesta.jpg

The drawing style developed by José had many failures with respect to the anatomical proportions (not to mention the other illustrations of the comic, each character was disproportionate), which I corrected in the new design making it higher and giving it a more intimidating look and with more technological details..

Separadores para Web-03.png

Gif-Step-by-Step.gif

The sketch was made in pencil and was photographed to finish the drawing on the computer with the program Adobe Photoshop CS 6

Technical information:
Digital drawing
Program used Adobe Photoshop CC 2015
Full resolution 2550 x 3300px at 300dpi

Unfortunately this project could never be finalized, due to problems that the publisher had to go through to survive in the market, which due to misfortunes he could not overcome; ending with the closure of the magazine in 2016.

Thank you very much for reading my post

All images, banners, stripes and gifs used in this publication are my property.
See you in a future publication

Inu-Jim

Inu-Jim LOGO.png

Sort:  

Very nice, @inu-jim !! Love this picture so much <3 I always admire people who can draw robots ! :D :D :D Great step by step presentation, also <3

Thank you very much, @veryspider !! Since I have memory I always love robots, someday I'll build one ha ha ha XD... and no kidding, I'm serious

Hello @inu-jim, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Inu-Jim from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64498.18
ETH 3079.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86