Art of Music Contest Entry: House of the Rising Sun — Inspired by Nina Simone

in #artofmusic6 years ago

This new music contest has me stoked, and I’m bringing out one of my favourite covers for the occasion, performed on my 12-string.

I’ve been playing this version of House of the Rising Sun for a while. The original is by the Animals, of course, but this is my interpretation of Nina Simone’s take on this song.

So without further ado, here's my entry for Round 1 of the Art of Music:


Yeah, that’s a fun one.

The theme this week for the Art of Music contest is jazz, which isn’t honestly one of my preferred genres. I mean, I’ve spent time in New Orleans and have been to Jazz Fest a few times—I like some jazz, just not the kind where everyone in the band seems to be playing a different song.

I wasn’t sure what to sing at first, but Nina Simone came to mind, and I figured this jazzy version of a song about New Orleans would do.

Here is the song by Nina Simone, so you have an idea of what I’m going on.


Nina Simone, House of the Rising Sun – via YouTube

line-divider-clean.png

Support Steemit Musicians.


There are so many talented musicians on Steemit! 💖

Be sure to head over to The Art of Music Contest post to check out the other entries. And please share this contest with your music-loving friends!

Thanks for listening!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel

Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

alliance banner

Sort:  

and oops I forgot i meant to tip!

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

I knew you played guitar and sing but this is the1st time I heard you! Looooooved it @katrina-ariel! Good luck in the contest!!💪☄🤗

WOW! I didn't know you're a musical talent as well! So many hidden depths in your personality, I love seeing you explore them all here on Steemit <3

wow. that was an amazing voice you have there. I always wanted to learn to play guitar and be able to sing too. I hope one day I could be like you. Hope you will win the contest. You deserve it. ;)

First I have to say WOW you nailed it,
Secondly I have to say generally for a song I love the original version such as this one by the Animals, I am never keen on other versions of it, but I love your version it is so well done tip!

Now both showing my age and perhaps how weird I am, I remember clearly hearing that when it was played on a radio the first time I heard it where i must have been only 4 years old and I remember discussing it with my Brothers who didn't like it, but I loved it from the first time I heard it

Eres buena con la guitarra, genial te felicito...

Muchas gracias, mi amigo. 💖

Hi @katrina-ariel! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @tattoodjay!

@tattoodjay wrote lately about: Photo Chain Contest Mother Nature, Glorious Greens Feel free to follow @tattoodjay if you like it :)

Earn daily income on steem: @tipU distributes 100% profit + 60% curation rewards to all investors.

hey I love to listen to you!
you have a great ability! congratulations

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87