Art of Music Entry: Say Anything (original music)

in #artofmusic6 years ago

This song was written by my friend Phil Sheaff and me, on top of a hill outside of Chicago.

We played a lot of music on that hill, him jamming on guitar and me singing my heart out. We even got shut down once by the cops ‘cause it was so late and I guess we were keeping people awake. ;)

Phil gave me my first guitar, and is one of the most talented musicians I know. He joined Steemit as @philm.music, but hasn’t posted yet… maybe this will motivate him to do so. Then again, he has a brand new daughter, so we’ll cut the guy some slack.

Anyway, this week's theme for the @killerwhale #artofmusic contest is country, and this song has a feel of wanting to hit the highway and run, of heartbreak and longing, so we’ll classify it as country for the purposes of this entry.

I was feeling a little fragile last night, and not at all photogenic, so the backlighting in this video was intentional. That, and I sing with my eyes closed much of the time. It helps me concentrate.

Hope you enjoy the music!



Lyrics – Say Anything


Don’t you ever want to run
Just throw it all away into the past
And let the highway take you
Somewhere
Where it doesn’t matter anymore

Say anything to me now
‘Cause it doesn’t really matter
Anyway

I notice how the road ahead
Looks so promising
And how good it feels to leave it all behind
Driving my fears away
Burning them with the sun
That lights the road ahead
To a new day
Far away

I keep looking for the place
The place where I can hide away my thoughts
And in my isolation
Find my somewhere
Where it doesn’t matter anymore

(repeat chorus)

Original music. Lyrics by Katrina Ariel, music by Phil Sheaff.


Thanks for listening. 💖

Whatever happens, keep singing your song!

Peace. @katrina-ariel

Katrina Ariel


Author bio: Katrina Ariel is an old-soul rebel, musician, tree-hugging yogini, and mama bear to twins. Author of Yoga for Dragon Riders (non-fiction) and Wild Horse Heart (romance), she's another free-spirit swimming in the ocean of Steemit.

dragon
dragon art: Liiga Smilshkalne


Steemsugars

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
CLICK HERE TO VOTE FOR WITNESSES

Witnesses keep the blockchain alive, and it costs nothing to vote for them, so please do so. @steemgigs, @noblewitness, @enginewitty, @jatinhota, @jackmiller, @drakos, @lukestokes.mhth, @curie, @pfunk — there are so many good ones. Do some research and cast your votes!

alliance banner

Sort:  

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

Shit that was good hun. 😎🤗

I really love this song, and the lyrics are really deep and touching. And as always your voice is awesome and such feeling 💖 loved it!

Wow! Just wow! Beautiful song, beautifu voice!

Have I told you already how much I love you and your voice? I have??? I do not remember that... :D I LOVE YOU SOOOO MUCH!!!! 💚💚💚

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34