Album cover commission. Pen drawing.

in #artzone5 years ago

Recently I was contacted to do an album cover. I was given a large list of things to include in the cover, I tried to get them all in.

Kirk_complete178.jpg

Final piece. 7x7"

Kirk_complete_detail1.jpg

The worried looking boy in the center. We also have a gun, syringe, nintendo, angel wings and some pills.

Kirk_complete_detail2.jpg

Pill bottle, hanging headphones, and some demon faces in the background.

Kirk_complete_detail3.jpg

Close up of the Jordan shoes and musical notes.

Kirk_complete_detail4.jpg

TV, and again the nintendo.

I'm not gonna lie, the client was a little upset because the piece came out a bit darker than they thought. I was a little surprised that they thought it was a bit dark... due to all of my other work, but hey.. can't win em' all.

Thanks for having a look
Get GRIM
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

Fantastic detail and good job working from their list! I wouldn't know how to begin to include so many diverse subjects into one piece of art. I think it's quite fabulous.

Amazing album cover, with so many interesting things.... that made me wonder if they are all formed a story somewhere that needed to be told through this album... Nintendo, angel wings, jar of pills.... I can feel the story !!!

Amazing inking and detailing, as usual, Anthony <3 I also like the strange expression of the boy's face, it conveys uneasiness... And very GRIM, as always <3 Beautiful picture !

Thank you! that's exactly what they wanted on the boy's face.

Ok, that's amazing!!! such beauty and detail! Wonderful work... Upvoted, and following!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Let me guess, is it for an Opera album? A country western singer? ;)

It is amazing and it's always tricky when doing custom work to get all of what the customer is hoping for. It's our job as artists to try to tweak what they see in their mind's eye onto the page and also represent our own style. It can be tricky, but also really fun.

You've done a great job!

Hhaha. Well... it was fun to do. I can say that much.

I'm sorry to hear that the client was not completely happy with that. I'm surprised as it's clearly visible how much time and effort you invested in this piece. It is great and don't let them bring you down! :) We say: You're not an avocado, you can't please everyone :)

You're right! I'm not an avocado!

howdy from Texas achristopherart! wow the details on this drawing is freaking me out! lol .. I mean I'm studying this and asking how can you have so much patience and how long did this take?
It's amazing. Great job!

Thank you. It was basically a 12 hour drawing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70223.87
ETH 3561.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73