Vision Bowie. (Late night doodle at the bar)

in #artzone6 years ago

Well, I went out for a stroll last night to bury myself in drinks for about 2 hours. I found out that someone had taken one of my pieces and put it on an iPhone case and had it for sale on their online shop. Completely without permission. Needless to say... I was livid. I filed a copyright complaint, and a lot of my friends sent this person emails threatening legal action. I also had my buddy from San Diego who is an attorney help me out with this one. He sent him a very professional email basically stating that he must take down the product because they stole my artwork. By 12:30 PM today it was gone.

vision bowie050.jpg

Here is the little drawing I did while I was at the bar down the road from me. "Vision Bowie" I just called it that because of the strange eyes I put on this masked character. This is 2.5x3.5"

bar.jpg

Here is a photo of me working on it at the bar. Sorry the photo is a bit dark... I mean it's a bar after all. Shitty beer, and shitty whiskey. Yum.

Keep an eye out for people that might steal your work. Luckily someone on Reddit recognized that it was my drawing on this product and sent me a message asking if I had any part in it. Otherwise I probably would have never found out.

Thanks for having look.
Copyright @achristopherart. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

wow!! the size of this piece it's incredible haha.I really like it, Please check it my profile, i do art pieces and photographs :))


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I'm glad you managed to take the theft down ! Some people are unbelievable ! They think art just comes out of thin air, or sommit??? So frustrating!!!

I love this piccar, @achristopherart :> So tiny ! And such a happy smile :>

It looks so wonderful in scale, too <3

Awesomeee

I had a buddy who created a Bart Simpson/Cam'ron collab thingy and within the month it was being sold by over half a dozen companies without his permission and someone famous(Tommy Hilfinger's kid I think) had the image tattood on him. He went through a bunch of legal BS and got essentially nothing from it. It was pretty sad.

Shortly after another friend of mine posted a painting to Instagram and not long after someone had stolen it for a successful mixtape cover, and "altered" the image just enough so he couldn't do anything about it. Shit sucks.

Sorry to hear it's happening to you. I really hate that stuff. Which image was it, just out of curiosity? This is great, by the way :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70797.92
ETH 3553.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76