✨ Another Massive Mandala Painting!

in #artzone5 years ago

I created this huge Mandala painting last Spring. I'm excited to share the process of how I created it with you all! The first part of making one of my Mandalas is to create the pattern. I don't make any sketches or drawings first, I just start right on the canvas with a relatively light color of paint. First I make a dot in the middle, then it slowly grows.

IMG_1937[1].JPG

I add a part to the pattern, then repeat it 4 times. The way I get the symmetry right is a lot like how musicians remember exactly where notes are on a guitar or a piano - muscle memory.

IMG_1940[1].JPG

After the over 7000 hours I've spent painting Mandalas, my brain has developed a natural feel for the distances, angles and curves of the new part of the pattern I just added. So with the music analogy, recreating them another 3 times is sort of like playing the same series of notes again.

IMG_1947[1].JPG

Now I'm all done creating this pattern! Next it's time to start adding color.

IMG_1952[1].JPG

For this one I felt inspired by nature and Spring. I wanted to give it the vibe of a peaceful Japanese rock garden. Subtle, gentle and relaxing. I went with light greens, grays and some earthy browns.

IMG_1974[1].JPG

The next phase is the line work. I go over the pattern again to tighten it up, and add contrast. I usually find that the most relaxing part of creating one of my Mandalas. Can you see the difference where the outline is done already compared to where it's not?

IMG_1983[1].JPG

After the outline is all completed, that is when it starts to feel like it's almost done. But on this one I felt I still wanted to add some final details to make it pop a bit more, and add some more contrast.

IMG_2011[1].JPG

Here it is all done! I named it "Peaceful Garden", and decided to get a picture with it in my own backyard's peaceful garden!

20180629_172420(2).jpg

If the vibes are calling to you and you'd like to be the owner of this one of a kind original painting, it is available on my website @ https://www.nexusvisions.com/product-page/peaceful-garden-48-x-48-inch-original-acrylic-painting

I can also accept cryptocurrencies - Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin and Steem/SBD - just ask me and we'll work out a fair exchange rate!

Project Capture (248).jpg

Thanks for following along, I hope my art makes you feel inspired to follow your own passions with more dedication. Don't forget to upvote and Re-Steem! -Adam

I invite you to sign up for my e-mail list, visit https://www.NexusVisions.com

Nexus scan vectorized.jpg

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Your post was upvoted by the @art-venture account after manual review and included in Art-Venture magazine. The upvote and support of Art-venture magazine would greatly appreciated!
Unbenannt-1a.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63014.19
ETH 3071.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83