The Painting That Took Me Over 500 Hours - Part 1

in #artzone6 years ago

Have you ever heard of the idea that it takes 10 000 hours to "master" something? I keep track of how long each painting I do takes me, partly because it helps me set the price fairly - but also because I want to reach 10 000 hours painting Mandalas and become a Master Mandala Painter! So far I'm at about 7800 hours. Back in 2016 when I was almost at 5000 hours, I decided to do a big painting with the most detail I'd ever done - plus a little something special! I was thinking of it as my "Half Masterpiece"

I got the blank canvas as a Christmas present from my parents for Christmas 2015. It's 48 x 48 inches. At the time I'd only done one other painting this size before. I was excited to see what it would turn into!

IMG_20151225_113548-01 (2).jpeg

The first step to creating one of my paintings is to create a pattern. For me it's the part I find the most fun. I never really know what they'll turn out like when I start with a small dot in the middle. I made the dot in the middle of this one as the clock struck midnight on New Years Eve to start 2016. For this one just creating the pattern took me almost a month. I do all my work freehand, I never use geometry tools or a ruler. In some places where the lines are thicker, it was to make corrections in the symmetry as I noticed them

IMG_0309s.jpg

After the pattern is done, the next step is to color it in. That's always the longest part. For this one it took me almost 2.5 months coloring it in, 2-4 hours a night just about every night. Part of the reason it takes so long is it needs 2 coats of paint in some places, so that adds to the time it takes. I've always loved earth tones, so I went with those colors. I sort of wanted it to show a connection to nature.

IMG_0337.JPG

Once the pattern is colored in, the next part is to go over the outline again.It tightens up the pattern, and I use different colors to add extra contrast between sections. When I finish this part, I know I'm getting close to the end. The next phase is to add dots and details that really bring it to life and add even more contrast. I have a lot of fun doing the details, it's probably the least structured part of my process. When I get to the details, I feel a bit like I'm playing compared to coloring it in, which can be more like a test of patience than super fun lol

IMG_0346 (2).jpg

Stay tuned for Part 2 - the details, and a really cool surprise! -Adam

Visit my website @ https://www.NexusVisions.com/art

nexusblack.jpg

Sort:  

lovely art-s @adammillwardart
thank you for sharing
resteem

Thank you, I appreciate it!

Wow! amazing@adammillwardart

Thank you! I'll post part 2 tomorrow I think :)

Such dedication. I admire that. Looking forward to seeing part 2. Loving both the colors and design of this. The design is deep and makes me think of the depths of my mind as well as all things in this universe.

Thank you! I'll post part 2 tomorrow I think :) The details really bring it to life, and there's still something special after that!

True dedication. Good work Adam!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Hello @adammillwardart, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Beautiful as always. My thought would be can we ever really master something? I'm thinking in terms of a runner. But by mastering something that is not to say we cant still continue to learn

I totally agree that Master doesn't mean can't keep learning or getting better. In the art world I think of a Master sort of like in Martial Arts, a Master would usually become a teacher as well, and/or take on apprentices type of idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05