Just Some Quick Sketches

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

View this post on Hive: Just Some Quick Sketches


But Please, Don't Judge My Apple ;P


[Imgur](https://i.imgur.com/qYHwOcn.jpg)


Hello my friends, and yes, I know it's been a long time between drinks.

Did I mention it's been cold in Canberra?

Did I mention that I hate the cold?

One of my pet peeves about Winter - it's the only season that my insomnia loves to invade... on several occasions, just this week, I've found myself rotisserating in front of the heater at 3.00 am and it just does my head in.

Of course, in mid-summer, I could just drag a blanket outside, lie down and look at the stars... but instead, it appears that my insomnia prefers to take a summer vacation and only ever visits in the dead of winter... grrrr

Anyhoo, on a lighter note, I've been practising some quick sketches lately, using only a black PITT artist pen. This is a style of sketching that I really appreciate and enjoy and as you can see, my focus is on expressing tonal values and the use of cross-hatching for shading.

Hands are notoriously difficult to draw but at the same time, the most accessible prop an artist can utilise... and this is the main reason why I draw my hands for practice.

However, having said that, it is a great exercise for learning to see in basic shapes while also using shading to correctly express perspective and dimension.

Line

Thanks for stopping by and reading my post, I really do appreciate your time.

And remember to keep smiling, it makes people wonder what you're thinking...!


Kindest Regards

If you enjoyed reading my post, please follow, comment and upvote.
All photos, stories and graphics are my own work unless otherwise noted.


Imgur

Line

stnicholas2018.png level.png weeklyAuthor.png

Make your own steemitboard footer with this post by @arcange

posts.png comments.png upvotes.png rewards.png replies.png upvoted.png

Line

Proudly representing

Imgur

Line

Proud supporter of @steeming-hot

steeming-hot-bot_small.png

Sort:  

Very nice sketches, @alphaccino.art :) I like how you did the cross hatches, and the one that is grabbing an apple, does so with great grip ... convincing and solid <3

I hate winter cuz I get the flu and now I'm recovering but it takes days and it succcccccccccccccccks

Thank you @veryspider and I hope you're feeling better soon, sending some positive energy your way to help with your recovery xxx


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

IMO hands are one of the hardest things to draw, these are really good!

IMO hands are one
Of the hardest things to draw,
These are really good!

                 - juliakponsford


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Thank you @juliaponsford, it reminds me of a photoshop tutorial I once saw about 'how to draw hands'. Their solution was, and I kid you not, to draw a cat over where the hands should be...SMH

But I must say, I have even surprised myself with some sketches turning out much better than I thought I capable of... lolz

Hi, @alphaccino.art!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

"Quick sketches"?? I could not do that if I practiced for several decades.

Amazing work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79