Felled Foe | Original Artwork

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

I have been going through some personal battles lately and I typically combat these periods by drawing non-stop. I have a handful of pieces to post about so I guess I will start with this one.

Felled Foe

Here is the finished piece
Feld-01.png

I am not good about breakdowns but I hope to get better. But I have some stuff I can talk about here.

So first, this image came from a long running conversation with someone I think is really cool. So some hints to it's meaning might be embedded in the breakdown. But I like to find things in a conversation that will make 1 piece of art. I do this when writing films too.

Anyway, lets talk shop...…
Felled Breakdown 1.jpg

So, of course I had to start with the most detailed and focal point of the piece. Last week I was battling a depression bout. I felt like all I was doing was falling further away from my goals and reality. So this felt like a good starting point.

Felled Breakdown 2.jpg

These words in English were running through my head on repeat while on my midnight runs. I used Latin to make my point because the Latin language can say 100 things with one simple statement. I am not going to say what it says or what it means. But what I can say is that it is heavily embedded in Nietzsche's concept of Nihalism and Love. There is something that runs deep in long late night conversations. Sometimes you tend to fall into complacency and forget you need to sharpen your philosophical mind while conversing with someone you may not know too well, but want to learn about.

Felled Breakdown 3.jpg

There was a series of comments that landed on a black hole being the punchline of a joke. So I wanted to find a way to get a deep space vibe. But I needed to soften it to hit the colors I wanted to compliment.

Felled Breakdown 4.jpg

So I added this under my deep space color. I also like to include pink in everything I do. So this was a good place to get that included to get a unique grey.

Felled Breakdown 5.jpg

This is where I laded with the colors combined. I was going to start adding some grungy stars. But I was studying some One Sheets made by Stanley Kubrick and felt like a more minimalist approach would be more appropriate. Something about falling through deep space without a visual of stars seemed scarier than any normal vista of space. It felt more in line with Cosmic Nihilism.

Felled Breakdown 6.jpg

I approached the Black Hole for this a bunch of ways. I ended up keeping it as simple and visually appealing as possible. Anything we actually know about Black Holes is abstract as heck. The science behind falling into one is mind blowing. So yeah, somehow this worked for me.

Now For Some Close ups

Felled Breakdown 7.jpg
Felled Breakdown 8.jpg
Felled Breakdown 9.jpg
For the words I have been attempting to stay well away from fonts. So I started using a series of handmade brushes and cool brushes I find on the internet.

I just like to keep things cryptic and puzzle-like to keep people thinking about what they might have seen. This culture seems to be disposable towards art in general. So my hope is to embed questions to keep what I make in your thoughts. If you care too, which is totally fine if you don't want to as well.

Felled.gif

I love working in the digital art medium. I was never very great with a pencil but my mind has always been on software and how to use Adobe. I have been using Illustrator since I was a teenager and I have been so grateful to be well versed in all the Adobe apps, but Illustrator is what I am most proud of knowing. Thanks for checking out my weird shit XD

Namaste,
XD
P.S. If you aren't in the MSP-Peace Abundance Liberty Discord server you are missing out. Head over there and make some friends. They are having a great time and supporting active members. Join us
Discord
@minnowsupport
Minnow Support

Also check out the label I am on Definition Music
http://definitionmusic.tumblr.com/

Schermafbeelding_2018-03-18_om_01.55.29 smaller.png
I have a radio show here on the Steem Music Alliance Discord server. Click the picture to join the server and tune in Tuesdays 5-7pm est // 21:00 UTC

Sort:  

is there an R missing in the last line ? Caesar not caesa ? or do you really mean cut ?

Nope ;) It's a battle word or could be a building word ;)

My latin is abominable it would have made sense with good old cesar now I have to rearrange :P

It's been a tough one for a lot of my friends.... which was the goal.

Hello @asonintrigue, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you sup much for the support. I will check you out XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97