ART EXPLOSION WEEK 43: MEDUSA, pencil drawing process step by step

in #artzone6 years ago

Definitely one of the best feelings is that feeling after doing a great work of art, that after all your work, concentration and effort you look at what you did and say "It was worth investing time", so it was with this, I passed 2 days doing this drawing to be able to do the details well, it was 2 days of concentration and when I finished I felt relieved to have finished it.
In Greek mythology, Medusa was a chthonic female monster, which turned those who looked at her eyes to stone.

IMG_20180712_004014-1.jpg

Greetings to all the steemit community and you who are watching this, this is my entry for the art explosion in week 43, I participate in this contest since week 26 if I'm not wrong, but I could not make an entry for each contest due to lack of time, now I'm resuming the routine and I hope to be more consistent with this great contest, made by @juliakponsford, sponsored by @curie, and judged by @vachemorte; without anything else to say, let's see the process of my artwork.


Materials used: Pencil graphite, white sheet and pencil 4B.


Step by step process:

  • I always like to start with the graphite pencil to make the basic sketch.

    IMG_20180710_142134.jpg

  • Having finished the sketch I begin to shade with both pencils to have the effect that applied in all my drawings.
    IMG_20180710_182354-1.jpg

  • In this step I was able to improve the quality of the image with a new camera. I improved the shape of the face and made the shadows with the stripes technique, so it looks more elegant.

    IMG_20180710_191957.jpg

  • Already having part of the face made I start with the first part of the snakes, to these I applied the same form of shading.
    IMG_20180710_201222.jpg

  • Every woman has her accessories, in this case jellyfish has a brooch of leaves on her head, well, in this step she shades that part and already at this point the drawing does have art.
    IMG_20180711_220945.jpg
    IMG_20180711_220526.jpg

  • To almost finish just finished shading the top snakes and texturize them with scales to make it look more realistic at the time of completion, I also highlighted details on all points.
    IMG_20180711_232949.jpg

  • And finally, make the black background with the graphite pencil and voila, I could finish with my work and I have a jellyfish list.
    IMG_20180712_004207.jpg
    IMG_20180712_004014-1.jpg

For my part I think I did a good job, however we all have different opinions, it would be a pleasure for me to leave your opinion in the comments to take it into account in my next work and thus be able to improve each day more as an artist.

My name is Christian Perez, I am 15 years old and they are from Venezuela, if you stayed until this point it is because you like me no? With your comment, opinion or valuable vote I would be very grateful, I hope it has been to your liking.

gif.gif

Sort:  

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

this is nice, @christianp11, good pencil skills :> but to make your posts absolutely safe, you should always cite your sources. I think this is the original for your pic? https://www.deviantart.com/madeleineink/art/Medusa-287406003

people can easily find that the idea and design for this piece with a reverse image google search. and it's better to be up front with these kinds of things to avoid people questioning later on.

good luck with the contest !

You are absolutely right, for the next I will put the source to avoid confusion and discord. Thanks for the help, I'm still a novice

an interesting work, i like pretty much the fact you took time to make the snakes ^^
though i think the nose still need some work, you did a good job working with the details :)

Congratulations @christianp11! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71