Sketching a New Design for my Posts [Art]

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

20180510_230013.jpg

Tonight I chose to design something new to share. It has been a while since I have exercised my artistic fingertips, and I could feel them tingling with unique insights.

20180510_225950.jpg

The goal this time was to make a little decorative image that will highlight historical information about my steemit account. It needs to be designed in an appealing way to fit on the bottom of my future posts. On the image, I'll leave spaces for text to be inserted to list useful data such as the price of steem, my current SP, account value, voting value, price of BTC, price of gold, weekly curation/author rewards, and various other key details.

Since I don't know how to query the blockchain easily, and I'm not keen on learning how to do all the technical stuff like that, I thought that making this footer image would be convenient for me to revise my list of these key data points, so they may be stored on the blockchain sequentially along with all of my future posts.

It will be helpful whenever I look back at my posts and I can quickly discover what the price of steem was, or how much SP I had, and what my votes used to be worth on that day. And I can view this information in a visual format that I prefer.

20180510_232707.jpg

This was my first #sketch. I drifted away from my original doodle design, because I thought a less symmetrical shape would look more natural and flowing. The s-curves of the steem logo started to appear as the leaves on this willow bonsai. This is what my imagination came up with, so I let it happen on its own.

The design of the tree looked very sad and depressing to me, and not very charming. Willow trees tend evoke sadness because their leaves and branches weep downward. Eventually, I scratched this idea, and decided to start fresh and new.

20180511_001451.jpg

Here we are with the finished sketch. Much closer to my original doodled concept.

Key Details

  • Steem logo in the center to present my SP total at the bottom center.
  • Quality, Patience, Gratitute: These are the three pillars I believe are necessary to succeed with steem.
  • Two bonsai trees with multiple tiers. One on each side of the steem logo.
  • In a bonsai pot labeled "Wisdom", the left tree branches into the prices of various currencies.
  • The right tree, with "Fortune" written on the pot, has branches showing my account value, my voting value, my SBI shares, and more.
  • The fruits of my labors are harvested from the two fruit trees on the outside, with their pots displaying weekly curation and author rewards.

In the background a mighty gong has the words "In this day in time" engraved into it, because every time I upload this footer image, it will have a different date and information associated with it.

20180510_230003.jpg

Next steps will be to re-create this sketch in Photoshop, and turn it into a nice looking image. Hopefully it looks better than the current name logo I use in my footer. I love watching the creations made by the talented #steem-cartoon #teammalaysia cartoonists, and I would be very pleased if some of that talent could rub off on me. I don't even have a stylus or a tablet, so I'm going to use my mouse to trace it out from my sketch photo.

Don't worry, I'm not scrapping the old @creativetruth logo any time soon. It has grown on me and others, and is even starting to feel a bit nostalgic.


Bonus Photo:

After digging through my art supplies, I found this super nostalgic pencil. Looking at it takes me down memory lane...

20180510_230246 (1).jpg

Not many born after the 90's will know what this is. Skipper's was a seafood fast food restaurant. They used to have crayons and pencils like this one for kids to draw on a coloring sheet that came with every meal. My parents always wanted to take us there to eat, but I hated seafood.

I always wanted to go to the fast food joint across the street from Skipper's, called Rax Roast Beef.

Before Arby's took over this franchise, Rax was the ultimate cheap thrill for kids, and got me hooked on breaded chicken tenders and french fries. I could have had the same thing at Skipper's, but it just wasn't the same for a young kiddo. Uncle Alligator was the only fast food mascot I liked for some reason. To this day I am still remembered as the spoiled brat of the family because I always insisted that we go out to Rax instead of Skippers.

Still, I think I'll keep the pencil. It might come in handy again.


Photos in this post are all #originalworks by @creativetruth.

Find me on discord and chat with other tree growers, bonsai enthusiasts, and gardeners. We have quite a few accredited experts filling out our ranks, and a helpful Spanish-speaking community.

teambonai.gif

#teambonsai

No memberships. Love trees. Make friends. Grow together.


CreativeTruth.png

Sort:  

Cool looking forward to see them on your posts:) x

Bonsai Man sharing some of his artistic work. Wow. Good Job, sir. Great design.

Carry on your own activities...
one day you will succeed

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 4 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 43 SBD worth and should receive 104 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hello @creativetruth, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you for your interest. I'll check it out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70351.33
ETH 3563.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.72