Gently Murder Me - Page 1 Breakdown

in #artzone5 years ago

09.jpg

Gently Murder Me

Hey, yall! I wanted to break down my process for creating a comic book page and I selected the first page of my chapter of Gently Murder Me that I created with Rebecca Esptein. Gently Murder Me was an experimental diary comic that I was a part of with a bunch of other artists in collaboration with Rebecca. You can purchase the comic here for all of $1 (or more if you wish)

This project was a bit different than most other comics projects. Rebecca didnt give me a script to work of but rather a diary excerpt to create a comic out of. Here is the part of the diary that the first page uses. Only the first few lines are used for the first page. Rebecca didnt break it down page by page but we did go back and forth a lot and collaborated on how the flow of the comic was going to be.

The Words

Screenshot_2019-01-08 After All, They Made You Who You Are docx.png

The Art

08.jpg

The Process

Based off the excerpt, I created some rough layouts for Rebecca to look over. This is the layout for the first page. I've added the second page as well just so you can more of an example as to how this translates panel per panel since the first page has no panel use.

1sk.jpg
2sk.jpg
Thankfully, Rebecca was pretty happy with these layouts so it was time to do some real drawing.
01.jpg
One of the benefits of drawing digitally is that you can draw what might get covered up later anyway. This allows me to create a real sense of continuity in objects if parts of them are extended, are covered up and are seen again.
02.jpg
In the next step, I add more details and inking flourishes.
03.jpg
After that, I add in the first 'panel' which is a mirror with the other view of the character and block of the parts I dont need of any given layer with a layer mask. Now that I have all the inks in place, I either lay down color flats which are used to separate objects or I pay someone to do this step for me. I think I had someone flat these pages for me, but this is what it looks like.
04.jpg
Then I copy that layer and switch out those flat colors for base colors I want to use. I think you can really see the page beginning to take shape here into what you see at the end.
05.jpg
At this stage, I create a layer above the base color layer. I use the base color layer to select the object I want, move up to the newly created layer and get to it. I use a number of brushes to get what I want across so its important that I'm familiar with the digital tools I want to use if I want to use them in a consistent manner.
06.jpg
With the majority of the color work done, there are just a few other things to do. In a couple other layers, I add shadows to the shirt, a sheen to the mirror, and add a bit of a red brown gradient to the line work to make it blend in just a bit with the colors.
07.jpg
All that was left was the lettering! Using some scanned in paper texture from an image Rebecca sent me, I created the caption boxes, gave them a bit of a tan hue, added a dark desaturated brown shadow to the boxes. I typed out the lettering using a comic book style font and then wrote over it to give it more of a hand written feel that would be more like a diary and wrote They/Them in a redder color than the rest of the text. And thats it!
08.jpg

Sort:  

Amazing comic play here. I love the setting, color and every detail in there. You are amazing man.
Keep it up

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks, man. 'ppreciate it.

A great panel full of small details! Her bag, keys, wallet, laptop, shoes - you worked out all these small details to perfection. I like the shading of the floor and the purple/green color of the glass.

I like the precision of your work. The inking is very good! Also like her clothes :)

Great job! Thank you for sharing!

Thanks! They took hours and hours. Glad someone appreciating!

I'm sure I'm not the only one who appreciates that ;)

I love this, Ed!!!! You are amaaaaaaaaazing, the detailing and inking and colours are just so wonderfully done * ____ *

AMAZING !!!!!

Hey, thanks, spidey.

Hi edgaruvm,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Congratulations @edgaruvm! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Looks great, love the process details you’re sharing. I really need to get more in the habit of “drawing through” everything so that I can have those reusable backgrounds, repositionable figures, etc.

Yeah, it can be tedious, but worth while the trouble. Besides, a lot of things in comic making does really test your endurance and commitment. I'm sure you would know that, being a comicker yourself!

Thanks, man.

This is a very interesting project, and it's great that she gave you enough artistic freedom to express yourself about how to convey the scene.
                     
I like how you arranged the panel in this page, the one in the mirror is especially a nice touch :D.          
                       
Congrats for the curie vote ^_^.

Thank you, @scrawly! It was a different dynamic, working without a script, but I enjoyed it.

I was afraid the panel in the mirror would confuse a lot of the readers, but it's good to hear it's working for some!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

great drawing skill, the woman with the mirrors is a very intriguing theme thanks for sharing your art

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29