Pencil Portrait of DuckiesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

I have to be perfectly honest, I had no idea who this was when I started and finished the portrait. I just saw the reference picture online and it looked pretty good and I thought it would be great to try bringing out the details on paper. I only found out it was actually someone fairly popular after I tweeted it, lol, which isn't to say I'm not proud of it.
I almost got discouraged about halfway through though when I was told by a fellow artist that I was doing it all wrong, criticism is really sometimes hard to take. I would've dropped it there and then but I have a few abandoned works and I was reluctant to add to the pile.
Completing this has made me realise that I'm still learning, I can't get each work done perfectly every time but I do learn from my mistakes, a lesson I hope will reflect in my next piece.

For this piece, I had to go really dark with the tones, so I used both graphite and charcoal pencils. My current brand of graphite is Derwent, charcoal is Generals. The paper is 8x12inches Strathmore 300 Bristol, 270gsm stock. I had to use a White Uniposca Marker for the highlights and a soft brush for the blending. I find that blending with a soft brush is better when applying charcoal and graphite together as opposed to the cotton bud I normally use, cos the bud tends to lift the graphite and charcoal from the paper. I also used a Tombow mono zero eraser, both the circular and rectangular shaped ones. I like the rectangular one cos it makes nice strands of hair, I mostly use the round one for skin highlights.

•••

LogoLicious_20180718_183330.png

Sort:  

A good eye and immensely patient hand. Upvoted.

You are still learning with this? Oh no dear, this is really cool. I wonder what you'll do as an expert if you are still learning with this. Thumbs up.

Lmao, thank you. I can't wait to find out myself.

You are welcome :)

This is crazy.. love it... check @ajadudraws. We are in the game.

Just did. Amazing works!

This is soo beautiful.. I love it!

I very much like the interesting texture you have on the skin @feoluwart.

Lol, thanks?!

Your post has been featured on @artzone.

Courtesy of @nmalove


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

I think you are very humble to say that you are still learning :) This is beautiful!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28