"Lights" Magic Illustration Technique with Markers and Paints #SteemArt

in #artzone6 years ago

final.jpg

Hello Dears!

Today I bring to you one of my favorite techniques, in my particular style of markers that give watercolor effect, but this time, also using paints.

It has not happened to them that they want to draw a picture that has colored lights? It happens to me very often. And let's face it, we're not good at projecting lights that are not the typical white color, it's very difficult to work with colored lights, more for those who work with crayons or colored pencils. But today I am going to tell you what I do when I want to place colored lights on a drawing. And while I'm at it, I'll make a drawing that I hope you like in a "fragmented" style, you could say.

Then, without more:

We get down working with the drawing!

The materials

  • White Cardboard of 32,5 x 24 cm
  • Water-based markers
  • Paintings
  • Graphite pencil (For the sketch)
  • Have a lot of patience (enough)

Sketch

The first step is to make a pencil sketch of our drawing, which is as similar as possible to our original model, without putting many details, because, at the time of painting, the less graphite, the better. Especially in this drawing, which will use a lot of marker and water. We take advantage to advance part of the background, adding colors to the sections. This will help us later.

boceto.jpg

Shadows

To the initial sketch I added shadows in the most relevant places, I did it with a drop of black ink extracted from a marker and I applied it with a wet brush. In addition, when it was dry, delineate areas that had shadows. This will be covered later with the painting, but it is an important step for me, because locating the shadows makes it easier for me to identify all the points of light.

Presentación1.jpg

Lights

As you may have noticed the drawing is divided by sections and the background has many colors, then, in this case, I took those sections and I was coloring the light areas with a color that contrasted with the background of each section. This is done with ink droplets extracted from the same markers used in the background, applying them with a wet brush.

Presentación2.jpg

Note: I made them quite clear because I wanted a "subtle" effect of light, but if they wanted a marked effect of color light, they should make it a little more saturated.

Clothes

For clothes use a different technique, this combination a little more texture. I added black and blue lines in a random way, however, if you wanted a fabric texture effect, more specifically, you could make circles or squares patterns and a very nice effect. After this it was diluted with a wet brush on the ink of the markers. And magic becomes reality when it dilutes giving that watercolor effect.

Presentación3.jpg

Paintings

We place on top of the skin a very thin layer of skin-colored paint (worth the redundancy). I use painting, which do not cover the work of the markers too much and allow the lights to be seen, if in their case they feel that the paint covers their work too much they should dilute it with a little water. I also reinforced the shadows in some places with black paint to give depth.

Presentación4.jpg

Details

Add some details with a black marker, including tattoos, reinforce the divisions of the sections and add some extra shadows.

I leave you a little picture of me with the drawing, I'm not as sexy as the model, but good guys, I do what I can to you draw with me.

This is all for today Dears, I hope you like this post full of Tips, I encourage you to undertake things you have not done. It is healthy to leave the comfort zone from time to time. A hug to everyone.

Follow my steps…

Sort:  

I really like it, keep it up :)

Thank you very much!

Hello @gineska, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Thank you so much!

Mi favorito hasta ahora.

Pense que te gustaría el de fragmentado :3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83