Quit Your Day Job! Artzone Dtube Contest Entry - Something Just Like This.

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)


Man I have heard or seen those words so many times throughout the years, only to see that it is some sort of scam or get rich quick scheme.
We all have to work right, even if you are rich and wealthy you have to keep working. And probably much harder!

Well I can say I am rich and wealthy... but not with filthy petrodollars or Magic computer coins (one day I hope), but I am with talent, time and passion.

I wasn't before back in 2012 when I was 22. Grinding jobs and finding out who I was and what to do.
I did not bother with further education when I left school as it was confusing reading the books of the college courses, lol, and computers were a far sight to what we have today, so I managed to get a job in a photographic laboratory emptying film cartridges for $3.20 ph and thus started my journey into the monotonous world of unskilled employment.

I can talk about that job for days! All sorts of stories, but after 4 years of sitting in dark rooms, eating chocolate Digestive biscuits and having cheeky wanks here and there,, I got itchy feet and buggered off to Indonesia for two months. I was a keen surfer and saved up a little cash to waste.
I was living at home at the time so yeew!

Indo was great but the magic had to end and I came back to my hometown of Penzance in Cornwall to start the search for my dream job.

The next job I got was selling tents in a tent shop. That went on to a cleaning job, then bar work, care work, construction, unemployment, taxi driver, hospital worker..
With a few broken relationships throughout the years and the landlord's fist knocking at the door every week, time felt like it was turning backwards but my physical age was moving forwards.

I had not grown financially or had many personal possessions or gains.
At the age of 35, all I really owned was a 42-inch plasma telly with no remote, an Xbox 360 (red light issues) a beat-up Ford Mondeo and a guitar rig.

I wasn't a happy man!, but little did I know I had a pot of awesomeness stirring and brewing bubbles under my feet.

For years after I arrived home from the shit days work, I used to play my guitar and release tension, stress, creativity and suppress my feelings and thoughts to the following months ahead.
I never thought I could provide a living for myself playing it.
Where I was from, It didn't seem right for someone to earn an income from their hobbies, it was hard to get custom and, I mean hobbies are for weekends right? That's why they are called hobbies?

But in the early months of 2016, I thought enough was enough with the shitty jobs and 'working for the man' and giving employers all my time...
I booked a one-way ticket to Asia taking just a backpack and my guitar.

To see if I could work for the man which is bloody me!!!

For 3 years now I have lived in Phnom Penh Cambodia and have sustained a living solely from playing my guitar.

I teach guitar in a school to children, play gigs at local restaurants, teach private lessons in the high towers of the city and spread my musical joy, and now Steemit to whoever I meet!
Of course, Cambodia being a third world country strife with government corruption and zero fuks given to the welfare of its people, I earn half as much as I used to back home in the UK and I still scrape for a living.

But I will say that it is a living worth scraping for.

I know that all sounds rather elating to someone tossing films out of photo cartridges, underground in the wanky biscuit tank, but to quit my day job would free up so much time and give me more lust to create.
A trip to the school for an hour lesson can take a total of two and a half hours because of the stupid traffic and it is so dangerous on the roads, one mistake could ruin my hands and that wouldn't be any good me!!

So as you will see from my submission I am passionate about what I do and I would love to make my living off of my Steemit posts and commit 100% to the platform.
To make a living and spread the news of it as well as my music to everyone and everywhere I go.

The opportunities for the types of my content which I can provide will be very entertaining and super credible.
From guitar lessons, original videos and tunes, travel videos, reviews, community-based ideas.
I would even film a "Grab your pick and play this" guitar lesson out of a plane skydiving.
Yeew, lemme at it!

And that finally brings me to my submission.
I am a bit old for dares, but a young hip student dared me to perform a Coldplay song in front of a gem of a location here on the outskirts of Phnom Penh.

It was bloody hot and embarrassing but of course, I won the dare :)
He owes me one packet of Jolly Ranchers.
Cheers!

Catch my acoustic cover of Extreme's More Than Words below
https://steemit.com/dsound/@jeffandhisguitar/20180508t061635644z-more-than-words-instrumental-acoustic-guitar-jeff


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Thanks guys :)
Fist bumps sent telepathically :)

It actually hit :)

Yessssssss!
Cheers ill :D

Super, thanks as well!

Jeff this is an inspiring post! Im really glad to see that you're living it off by your passion. Loved every bit of the video! Good luck mate! Cheers :)

Aww cheers albums. Imagine me playing George Michaels Faith at Angkor Wat dancing around like a goat.
Peeace.

It is more like quit everything and just do ===>>> this :) :) :) Enjoying much Jeff!

That's the spirit Sam!!
I always feared what others thought.
I am too old for that shit now :D
Play guitar every day!
Cheers buddy :)

Congratulations @jeffandhisguitar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Morning Jeff, yes your post is really enternaining. Your story from back in England unfortunatly is not only your story. You changed it creatively. Well done. All the best for you.
Do you learn Cambodian?
Love your song and your godly kids in front of the temple.

I feel ya Jo! I encourage everybody to think about how they earn their money and see if they can find the courage to break away from the system. ( if they are not satified of course)

If you have something useful to offer society then get good at it and build a following!
Something I never did for over ten years!

It may take years to get somewhere with it, but at least you will be spending your retirement in peace knowing that you have contributed to the world and you won't be working until you're 70!
Wise words of today. lol

I can speak a little Khmer but to be honest Jo it is not my talent. I struggle with English enough.
Fist bumps sent across the pond mate.
Cheers! :)

love the music and the scene

Cheers man. A splendid combination :)
Hope you are well.
Cheers.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75