7 guys, one tongue....& process shots!

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Hello everybody! I wanted to show you a surreal piece I did. To come up with ideas I often think about interesting 3d shapes and how they could interact with each other and how those shapes could be represented by the human body. I picture this guy having a somewhat boring office job. Scroll down to see how I made it.

7 guys one tongue1.jpg
First I have an idea and then I ink it on paper. This is the pure ink drawing.

Next I block in the basic colors I want. I feel like this step is much faster if I totally disregard the outlines until the end.

Here I added the 'background' color but it's actually on a layer on top of the base colors but under the lines. I've also added a nice watercolor texture to make the piece look more like a traditional watercolor.

At this point I thought it seemed a little dark and didn't have quite the mood that I was going for so I added one last layer on top. This layer was a screen layer that had a warm brown color. It has a nice effect on the lines and unifies all of the colors.

I hope you like it and I hope you learned something from the process! I've done many pieces using the same process. :)

-Ben

Sort:  

This is so good, incredible style! Thank you for sharing this amazing surreal piece with us and keep up the good work! :)

Thanks! I appreciate it! :)

This is cool

Your drawing and colouring skills are superb. I can say your creativity is top notch with the way you interpreted your idea of the man having a boring job. Kudos to you.

Thanks! 😊

Love this, Jeltie ! So strange and hilarious and the step by step is great :D ... I think it would be hard for this guy to hold a "boring" office job because his presence alone would make the office not so boring? XD

Haha I guess that's true! But maybe he lives in a place where he is normal.

Love your the weirdness in your style! keep creating!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

God bless Surrealism! Excellent illustration @jeltron!
Agreed that adding warm brown in black was good idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64777.26
ETH 3101.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84