Michigan State mascot "Sparty" sitting on Steemit

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Hired by a gentleman who lives in Michigan and a die-hard Michigan State fan. I give you Sparty, he is 7ft tall sitting. I carved him in a sitting position by customer request. To be sat on a bench on his deck.

image
Here is my creation after paint and varnish, holding my little Steemit sign I made. He's actually supposed to hold a beer. Below I will share some progress pictures from start to finish.

image
Started off with this block of wood.
image
Found his head then looked around for his upper torso.
image
Found it!
image
Attached his head to his soon to be torso.
image
Shaped him up and added arms.
image
Carved in some detail and tried to figure out how I was going to add the legs. At this point I didn't get feedback from the customer yet on whether or not he wanted the legs attached.
image
Decided to keep the legs separate from the body so he could be moved around easier. Here I found the log for both legs.
image
One leg started image
And the other..left them bulky so I could whittle down to the right proportions. image

image
Getting closer image
Got him to the level of detail I thought would work and torched him.
image
Sanded all the char off image
And airbrushed some shadow in
image
Applied varnish and then with green.
image
Finished him off with the white trim
image image

This was a fun project and very satisfying knowing the customer was happy with it.
I hope you enjoy seeing what I saw, if so feel free to upvote and resteem. I love what I do and I'm happy to share here on Steemit.
Thanks for looking

Sort:  

You got a 100.00% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

You got a 6.26% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 90% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Wow... I had never see before one of your artworks painted with colors... Of course, amazings, as usually!!!

That was great! You have very talent. Congratulations!👏👏👏

give me a vot i will back your vot @zahid69

I like you post as a good post.

Cool project!

cool photo... I love ❤️ this photo

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

You got a 4.82% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jonatftforest!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66785.29
ETH 3229.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30