[joyart] on Introducing African Grandma

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

Greetings steemians....
I'm really thrilled about sharing this piece with you because today, i have with me an adorable, agile-looking African grandma; awesome right? So here we go

1510385411473.jpg

You'd want to agree with me that she's at the peak of her days huh?
Now here's the reference

Screenshot_2018-05-04-13-52-05.png
photo source: @phlashpixels - Instagram

I came across granny while looking through a friend's page on Instagram late last year and i thought "wow! What a shot, I should make her a part of my portfolio"
What really enticed me about her was her teeth 😀😀, which had some drama due to time and age.
I mean look at her, so many people don't even get the chance to live life for about 20 years, but there she was bubbling with life and good health....... It was such a great sight for me, I don't know about you; but then I think living life to the fullest is something to rejoice about.

Like I said, I'd wanted her to be a part of my portfolio, so i didn't hesitate in drawing her 😊.... You can take a look
1525790508035.jpg
Here's when i started working on grandma; initially at this stage, the most challenging part was making the wrinkles on her face.
It was my first time drawing an older person so it wasn't suprising that i had so much difficulties. That not withstanding, I'd held my pen tight, seperated the tones on her face using a pencil, marked out every single wrinkle and then slowly and gradually drew them out starting from the lightest light to the darkest dark.

1525791125896.jpg
1524147647223.jpg

It was a very slow process and i can vividly remember working on this for about 3 weeks...... Each time mum was leaving for work, she'd tell me in a rather strict way, to make sure i finish up before she comes back; however she'd return to see me clinging on to my drawing board which had the same old work 😂😂
It was good i eventually finished anyways and at least i was able to to escape mum's wrath☺

To round this up, I'd say life is a blessing and living it to the fullest is more than a fullfillment........ Have your life and live it and do not for any reason be careless with it because the gift of life you have today, is what so many people had longed for to no avail. Live a reasonable life and give room for your impact to be felt while you're alive.

Thanks for reading..... Much love
BeautyPlus_20180416193350_save.jpg
@joyart

Please upvote, resteem and follow to support.
Comments would be appreciated.

Sort:  

Beautiful work as always! Love this drawing so much. You have once again been featured in the #payitforward contest. This time by @k0wsk1. Congrats!

Thanks friend for showing some love; I'm indeed grateful @energyaddict 💞

Your talent is expert! African Granny is very inspiring. You captured her exactly.

You've got a good heart....... I appreciate having your comment on my post; thanks a great deal @deemarshall

You are a fantastic artist. I found your post through the payitforward contest submission from @k0wsk1. Thank you for sharing your talent with us here at Steemit.

Thanks so much for appreciating my art; I'm blessed to have you come around...... Thanks once again

@joyart beautiful art.. I loved mama on drawing

I appreciate your comment friend, it's great to have you here @teechizy

YOU ARE GOOD!. I REPEAT, YOU ARE GOOD!!!.

I don't type in capslock, so you can imagine how impressed i am with this.

Thanks sweetheart, I'm glad you're impressed 😍

You always impress me cutie pie.

Congratulations @joyart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Nice art work. What a piece. What kind of paint did you use in this your work?

Thanks dear. That's not paint, it's black ballpoint pen...... That's all i used

Hey love do you have discord or instagram?

Hello, I've got instagram, no discord

I always love to see your work, it has so much character and I love to see your process. Cheers!

Thanks friend... Glad you enjoy my arts; means a lot to me.

Thanks so much dear for your kind gestures ; I'm grateful

@joyart, I’m so blessed that you entered this picture into the Steemit Art Centre, where I had seen it. I started following you a couple of weeks ago, and I had commented on one of your children’s portraits, gorgeous drawing also. I as well entered a portrait late last night into the gallery. I pray You will continue to show your work and thoughts through the gallery as well as myself. I don’t always have the time to check out the people I follow so the gallery is a great place to see you. I always try and comment to the artists here, and I’d like to get to know you better. You are an incredible gifted artists friend. God bless you.

God bless you too for your good heart.... Wondering if you're on any discord group... Pls drop me your username, I'll add you up.

Oh I am sorry @joyart I don’t use Discord. But thank you so much for asking. Your very kind friend!

Oh dear, that doesn't sound so good.......do you have any other means i could get in touch with you?

I’m sorry dear I don’t. But I will try and make sure to visit you on your posts when I can. I appreciate that you want to get to know me more. You are very friendly, kind and beautiful. May God bless you abundantly❣️

Thanks so much..... Stay blessed and Cheers! 💞

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66407.27
ETH 3219.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34