Ebb and Flow: a sculpture on the theme of water conservation.

in #artzone6 years ago

Sarah&ks.jpg
In this photo: my highly talented assistant Sarah Furst-Chavira on the left, myself on the right with the finished plasticine prototype.

Water sustains all life on earth, and the availability of water has been a vital factor in the rise and fall of human cultures.

Water conservation and the preservation of the hydrospehere have become subjects of primary importance for humanity in general, and for the city (Joliet, Illinois, USA) that commissioned this sculpture.

In this piece, I tried to show the dependence of humans and nature on water. The woman waters the tree which in turn provides fruit and shade for us.

The prototype seen from the back:
ebb-proto2.jpg

A detail:
ebb-detail-.jpg

The sculpture cast in bronzed resin and installed:
installed.jpg

Comments and upvotes are welcome; for those who wish to know more about my work, my website: www.kathleenscarboro.fr

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

You are more than welcome! The sculpture is astonishing in its beauty! 🙂
It's my pleasure to support such work.

It also makes me think of the Norns (Nornir) that feed the world tree Yggdrasil. About the Norns from Wikipedia:
In Snorri Sturluson's interpretation of the Völuspá, Urðr (Wyrd), Verðandi and Skuld, the three most important of the Norns, come out from a hall standing at the Well of Urðr or Well of Fate. They draw water from the well and take sand that lies around it, which they pour over Yggdrasill so that its branches will not rot.

It is a lovely legend. I found this depiction of Yggdrasil:yggdrasil.jpg

I searched forever to find a old color pencil drawing of mine, not on the computer, not on line. Eventually, at the bottom of a drawer, I found a slide. So I scanned it.PICT0038-YGGDRASIL-slide-scan-ps2-good-1600web.jpg
I am now thinking that I would want to paint it like that, but with a updated self-portrait. My signature painting is from the same time period, and I am starting to fancy that style again, which initially was inspired by Rudolf Hausner.

I really like this style - and I love trees...

Such an amazing piece with a powerful message behind.

It looks wonderful in position and the tile work on the plinth only adds to your sculpture. Well done, sharing this one. :)

Thank you @donnadavisart. We did many sculptures on columns with mosaics at the base.

Wonderful sculpture!!!!

beautiful...xx

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

Of course I miss this genius piece when I do my artzone curation post...

Beautiful artwork from beautiful creator😀

Wow, such big sculpture with plasticine? I thought it was clay (still with clay would be even more difficult as far as I know)! And to cast this with bronze is also big work! Awesome, bravo!

Also dig the stories that involve Yggdrasil, fascinating.

The plasticine is the surface material. Underneath there is a welded metal armature and foam. The foam keeps the piece from becoming too heavy and straining the armature. The casting was done by a moldmaker and caster in Chicago.

Thank you for your kind comment.

Ahh! Hehe ok, makes sense! Thanks for the answer ;)

I love it but I do wonder why is chosen for a woman to water the tree.

I thought a woman would have a the neo-classical look I was aiming for. But it is true it could have been a man, a boy, a girl...

there is a age-old Norse myth where Norns feed the world tree - I commented with links separately with more detail. Women are the archetype of nourishers.

Oh yes feeding others is a BIG deal for us.

Maybe I should make it a blogpost on that theme of the Norns, which I had gathered resources for my comment (somewhere below this)- particularly since I have at least one artwork that directly relates to this. (Yggdrasil - I searched forever to find it since it was not on my computer).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64359.90
ETH 3105.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87