My life size bronze sculpture of Mother Alfred Moes, Joliet, Illinois

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

MM-in-site-3.jpg
I received a commission in 2007 to do a bronze figure sculpture of a famous local Franciscan sister, Mother Alfred Moes. Mother Moes was a woman of strong character who came to the U.S. from Luxembourg and founded numerous orphanages and hospitals, including the Mayo Clinic.

There was only one photo of Mother Alfred, and it was old and blurry, so in order to give her a smile, I set up a mirror in the studio and gave her my own.
mm-face2.jpg

And with the glasses:
mm-face.jpg

The little girl was the daughter of an acquaintance who came and posed a few times.
mmchild.jpg

mm7.jpg

The finished piece cast in bronze:
mm3.jpg

The finished piece was erected in front of St. Francis University in Joliet, Illinois.
Mother Moes mag019.jpg

Sort:  

These are great arrtworks! would love to see you give more details and descriptions about how you made them Lots of people here would love to see it.

Thank you kindly @frost04. I don't always keep progress shots of works I have done in the past, but there is an entire sequence of photos on a sculpture which I put on Steemit recently: https://steemit.com/artzone/@kathleenscarboro/a-commissioned-sculpture-for-the-town-of-colonial-beach-virginia-usa

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules.

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote & Resteem the latest dropahead Curation Reports!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

Quality review from the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 83%.

Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!


(1) dropahead Witness' quality standards:

-Quality, technique and aesthetics of photography (Good framing, good focus, sufficient brightness, adjusted to what the photograph intends to express.)
-Adaptation and relationship with the general theme raised (clearly reflects the proposed theme)
-Capacity of the composition (causes sensations, emotions)

WOW! This is incredible @kathleenscarboro! Beautifully done :)

I've known you for a while now, we connected personally in Paris several times - but only now, via Steemit, did I find out you also created sculptures, and not just some doodling around, but monumental stuff! I am very impressed!

Dear Otto, I was dragged into sculpture by client request and I resisted greatly because I did not feel competent. So I went back to figure sculpting for a couple of years and then felt more confident. I think I have done 17 or 18 life size pieces.

This post has received a 2.83 % upvote from @boomerang.

Great drapery! one of my favorite things

Thank you - I love doing drapery in sculpture.

What a wonderful sculpture 👏

wow. Amazing work Kathleen!

Thank you Romanie; I really enjoyed doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29