Making Jewelry: Patinas

in #artzone6 years ago (edited)

2018-05-10-17-29-37-067.jpg

Just patina'd. Repurposed jewelry.

The ways of making jewelry are endless!! I think you could spend a lifetime learning all the ways.

Every once in awhile I like to switch things up!

Enter Patinas!
There is nothing like taking something old and reinventing it! I have been playing with Patinas today, specifically in relation to a bunch of choker necklaces I've made (chokers are all the rage right now).

Pictured is one above.

There are actually a variety of things you can use to create a different patina: everything from finger nail polish to chemicals. However for simplicity reasons, I'm going to only cover a few here.

#1. DecoArt Metallic Lustre

I love these! They work great on a wide variety of materials-from metals to fiber. They are even kid friendly - nontoxic, and if you don't like the consistency just add water! They come in a bunch of different colors! Even purple!! 😍

2018-05-10-23-38-37-530.jpg

You can find DecoArt Metallic Lustres online, at craft stores, and even Amazon.

#2. Vintaj Patinas for Metal

Another great line! These are creamy liquids with great color in a Huge variety! It also doesn't take much-a drop goes a long way! They do dry quickly so you have to work fast. There's even a chart on Pinterest that shows how to make new colors by mixing existing ones. You can buy each individually, or in sets of 3. These are available both in craft stores and on websites including eBay!

IMG_20180510_162911854.jpg

2018-05-11-17-21-42.jpg

Various pieces I've patina'd with Vintaj.

#3. Gilder's Paste by Baroque Art

This is the old standard that has been used the longest! (Long before Vintaj or DecoArt). It can be toxic but in the years I've been using it, I've gotten it on my skin and haven't had any problems. Don't get me wrong. I wash my hands alot when using. You will also need good ventilation when working with it due to strong odor. I love the effect gilder's Paste gives and it comes in ALOT of colors. It can dry out, and mineral spirits, not oil, softens it for reuse if it does. Depending on the consistency, you can blot it on with a cloth, or use a paint brush if it's fairly liquified with mineral spirits.

2018-05-12-16-06-48-982.jpg

I find that all three of these mediums can easily be mixed with each other creating even more special effects in your work.

I've been working with Patinas since yesterday and am enjoying the "jewelry-making goodness"!

I highly recommend pick up a few Patinas your self to try. You'll discover unlimited design ideas that unleash your creativity!

IMG_20180512_155427565.jpg

Recently completed patina'd charms.

All photos by me

Sort:  

Wow so neat. Ive never used any of the above materials. Maybe one day ill invest in more stuff. I like the earrings they are cute with the birds 🐦 . Keep on crafting my friend..oh and i did a post today on how to wire wrap very simple.

I'll go check it out!! Yeah I need to do some replenishing of stuff! Feel like I've sold a substantial amount to need to make some new stock. I dunno what it is about painting with patinas but I sure do enjoy it! Maybe it's my version of coloring books! Lol for large quantities of various charms, I use American dealers in eBay for stuff, but I also get alot from 2nd hand stores and nabbing other peeps jewelry stashes that get put up for sale.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28