A birthday portrait for someone I love.

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

We're states away (technically, countries, since I'm in Northern Baja right now), but she got a birthday message from me at 3:30am (about when I finished my last painting).... and now as she should be coming back from dinner, she'll be coming back to a portrait made from a still frame of a video when she smiled while being silly. I live for smiles and being silly.

Update: She loved it!!! :)

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Another nice piece, Ori! What medium are these? :O

My mediums vary -- I use oil, acrylic, chalk, paster, pencil, charcoal, clay, welding, plaster, wood, and more.... Put something in front of me, and I will make something. But the majority of my pieces are done digitally, because having created a new work of art every single day for 2,635 days -- if I didn't go digital, I'd need a large warehouse to store it all.

The above painting was done digitally, and is 16"x20" - which I can output on canvas or metal.

ohhhh digitally! which software do you use? :)

It's one of my least favorite questions in life... I get asked it often, but the answer is "All of it" -- I dabble with every piece of software - Photoshop, artrage, painter, mischief, alchemy, Zbrush, Keyshot, Procreate, Rebelle 3, and so many more.... Many times I use different pieces of software on one piece.

The reason I dislike the question (and I'm not taking it out on you- just explaining) - is because I was a photographer for many years, and people would always say stuff like "Wow, that's an amazing photo, you must have a great camera!" --- It was the years of practice that made the images good, not the equipment. Same thing with my art- I don't care which software I'm using, it's the practice that made the art good.

If you're looking to get into digital art, let me know, I can definitely make recommendations.

I use Krita :D Recently a friend recommended me MediBang, also, so I was wondering if you use the same one that I'm using :) .... that's all :D

And yeah, equipment helps but there's fundamentals in art like anatomy, composition, colour balance, tonality, etc. etc. etc. that really is the heart of arting.... People who assumes they can suddenly get amazing at something because of a piece of equipments are usually misguided :D

Congratulations! You managed to name 2 apps that I did not even know of :)

I have been using Photoshop since 1996 on and off -- it has been amazing to watch all the different software transform over the years... I've had people argue with me that some of my art is oils based- when I flat out tell them that it's digital.

I don't care which software / art people use, so long as they are creating... that's the important part.

I'm looking foward to doing art in Virtual Reality.

I really like Krita :D You should give it a try! :) I also dont care which software people use, art is art :)

Aside from Steemit, you mean? I'm still growing my other social media, but Steemit was my only social media for a long time (until recently) so, if you wanna see my stuff, they are mostly at Steemit :D

Thanks for the links! I'll check them out :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17