🎨 THE ERRATIC GATHERING OF UNDISCIPLINED BIOMORPHIC OBJECTS ✏️ finished

in #artzone6 years ago

My last post showed a WIP - and some play in Deep Dream and Photoshop. You can check it out HERE. Now I am getting a bit more serious - no digital playground this time.

THE ERRATIC GATHERING OF
UNDISCIPLINED BIOMORPHIC OBJECTS

Finished!

Google spell check is insisting there is no such word as biomorphic, so I had to teach them again. According to the Tate, this is the definition of it:

Biomorphic comes from combining the Greek words ‘bios’, meaning life, and ‘morphe’, meaning form. The term seems to have come into use around the 1930s to describe the imagery in the more abstract types of surrealist painting and sculpture particularly in the work of Joan Miró and Jean Arp (see automatism). Henry Moore and Barbara Hepworth also produced some superb biomorphs at that time, and later so did Louise Bourgeois.


IMG_1424-web1600.jpg
ZOOM

ERRATIC, GATHERING, UNDISCIPLINED - these words in the title suggest my work-methods. But to quote the Bard: "There is method in his madness"

Though I often say the stuff I create comes from the subconscience, but it is also true that if you take something out, you first have to input. I did this by voracious reading in my younger years. Sometimes I remember what triggered my thoughts. In this case, I think long ago I was fascinated with Dado's Vegetable Police, among other biomorphic works.

DETAILS



IMG_1419-web1600.jpg
ZOOM

IMG_1420-web1600.jpg
ZOOM

IMG_1421-web1600.jpg
ZOOM

IMG_1423-web1600.jpg
ZOOM

IMG_1422-web1600.jpg
ZOOM



Visit my website



ART OF THE MYSTIC OTTO RAPP-web350.jpg


10355891_10152211010617470_8465167091394590067_n-crp500sm.jpg
the first one to comment on this when I sent it out on
WhatsApp was my friend Caroline ◄ click, check out her Steemit page

About my Work

Sort:  

Love it, Otto <3 Very strange and unsettling and beautiful and delicate, all at once <3 Love your detailing mastery so much <3

I am glad you like it - thanks. The details are derived from a long practice that goes back decades. They are sort of shortcuts, textures that give it depth, but I would go crazy if I had to painstakingly draw it all out. From random to precise application, I had developed ways to control it.

Google is always trying to tell me words I use, like Chiaroscuro or curvilinear aren't words, but my Art History texts would not agree :)

What an amazing piece and a joy to finish a thing. So many wondrous details you could get lost for hours in them, wonderfuly so.

Resteemed for sure :)

Thank you Donna! Yes, Google has a very limited vocabulary, about on the level of a 5 year old. The translator sucks too, but it got better (still the best on the net, regardless). No matter how often I mark a word to add to the dictionary, next time the computer reboots, I am back to square one.

So elegant, Otto. It looks fertile, like it may give birth to something.

good assessment - it did make me think of Giger after I was done. I didn't aim for it, it just developed.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by The Mystic from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

First, I adore the title. The piece itself is disturbing, but not in a wholly unpleasant manner, if that makes any sense.

my work is often disturbing, thanks for seeing it in a positive way.

Your world is absolutely awesome. I also have some biomorph drawings, but I'm just a beginner :)

P1030045.JPG

P1040635.JPG

Wow... awesome drawing.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You bring this to life equisitely, so fractally! I love it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43