How I Died and Was Reborn at Dream Machine HTX

in #artzone5 years ago (edited)

This event happened in January but it was such a transition for me that it deserves to be in the blog. I'll start from the beginning of this particular installation; Thanksgiving 2019:

Thankful. While eating turkey with the family, my first fractal animation completed its two days of rendering for Dream Machine HTX an immersive art experience by Bambull Black that has me (and many other amazing installation artists) pushing into some odd, old and new realms:

I studied animation at Art Institute but quickly after graduation abandoned it when the technology let me down. Built in plug-ins for cool effects were so wompy and full of bugs...I figured, let me develop my artistic skills and message while the technology catches up to my needs.

10+ years later, I realized the tech has reached the point where available software can bring my dreams to life, without all the headache.

Its time to expand.
To realize our dreams.
If the previous dream is over,
Time to dream a new one.



Then the shit hit the fan.


After the last minute cancellation of the original December show date due to city code violations for the venue's incomplete bathroom re-construction, the show had to be rescheduled the following month in a different location. This change caused all kinds of complications for our installations. Even still, we pushed through to put on a great show...

We were all set up and running the day of the event after previous successful tests nights. In spite of all that, one installation was ruined by strong winds when Fire Marshall required it be moved outside. My installation almost didn't recover the unforeseen as well.

It went perfect for a while, then right as the show was peaking my projector auto-shut down.
(It was too high up for the remote or anything to reach it.)

I was crushed.


BUT I HAD A BACK UP PLAN.


WHEN YOU ARE PREPARED FOR THINGS TO GO WRONG,
YOU SET YOURSELF UP FOR VICTORY.


You might think I'm into positive thinking. Maybe I am. But I also think of all that can go wrong. Then I prepare for it. The reason I succeed in most of my endeavors is because I don't allow for the worst case scenario to play out without formulating a plan with how to handle it. After all, I study order and chaos.

My Back-Up Boy immediately filled the wall with some beautiful lights and YE Torres did some hypnotic dance while we improvised a new setup. Then my projections came back up again an hour later thanks to my awesome team (Jose Gustavo & Chelsea Ezike). So grateful. Y’all are literally my saviors.
You gave me new life when I died.

Here’s video from before, during, and after the show as proof that I lived. I died. And was reborn like the Atlas beetle in my drawings and dreams.

But then it got even better...

Bambull Black (the art collective responsible for Dream Machine) put on such a good show that we made local news. I also made the glowing moon globe and geodesic painted mannequin legs that got featured on the headline image plus a shout-out from Houston's top premiere e-newspaper, Byline Houston (the new Free Press Houston)! Read the whole article here.

The other artists got some great mentions as well. I've made new alliances, and have learned so much from the whole experience. But last year was my worst ever dealing with my father's death. I had to push myself to believe in me again in the new year. In the first month, this show rejuvenated me. It proved to me that if I work smart and hard, I can still be victorious. More has come my way since then and I'm having the best year I've ever had in my career.

It's progressing really fast now...


Stay tuned for more!

Sort:  

Dear Artzonian, thanks for using the #ArtzOne hashtag. Your work is valuable to the @ArtzOne community. Quote of the week: Art, freedom and creativity will change society faster than politics. -Victor Pinchuk

I love that quote. So true. And thank you for having me. I alway thought it was #ArtZone so thanks for clarifying too. ;-)

It sure is nice to see you again, @vincentfink. Keep’em coming man, check you out! The more you release high quality art like this, the quicker you’re going to be pleasantly surprised with Steemit. Thanks for sharing!

Thanks Dandays! I am following your advice and will try to post more frequently. It's hard to make the time but it is very rewarding when a post does so well on here... especially compared to my other social medias that I used to get more traction from... lately, steemit has been the one showing the most love! I'll be back sooner than later...

My pleasure—all I ask in return is you share your Steemit address with your followers on those other sites you’re talking about. 👍🏿

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 17 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 182 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

hey thanks a lot they sure made that goal and exceeded it!

Congratulations @vincentfink! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80