I refuse to be a robot

in #asapers6 years ago


I have days I don't feel like doing anything. And then some days where I just can't seem to stop creating. And how good it is to have others in life who can confirm that they sometimes feel the same.

I guess the problem is not in having those seasons - after all, we are part of nature (something that we often forget?) and everything in nature seems to have its cycle

  • but in expecting ourselves to be at the "top" at all times.

I've been creating so much suffering by disallowing to have "low" days - "low" by the standard of a capitalistic, greedy mentality. But when stepping back and slowing down, the question rises: Who defined "lows"?

And what if the seasons are needed as they are here to recycle the old, weak and let the new flourish?

I refuse to be a robot.


Where have we gotten into, expecting ourselves to be robots and always perform in the same way while we know that what differentiates us so preciously from machines is our love, compassion and kindness...?

...Then I'd rather be in a "low" than to sacrifice those traits...

Sam



This post is originally published on my blog: samryter.com/blog
I, Sam Ryter (@sams-world) am the author and creator of this piece of content.
(Copyright @sams-world, samryter.com)

Thank you for reading :)


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://samryter.com/i-refuse-to-be-a-robot/

Sort:  

I completely agree. It's ok to step away for a little bit. It's better when you choose rather than it being forced on you. I've been mostly off for about a week and half. You can read my whiney story on last week's Mindfulness Monday. Today, I am sore and tired and not feeling creative. Maybe after some decent sleep, I get a jump start.

:)) there are these days.... i know them well... I usually download silly mobile video games until i get the urge to step out of the slump again :))) :D haha, wishing you the best @triskele... im a bit late with responding gosh... i had been playing on my phone... haha

Strangely enough not doing anything can spark new ideas and new creativity. As I'm sure you have experienced!
I forget the exact quote but it's something about how music, without the rests between notes, would just be noise.

it's so true. Doing nothing, is sometimes the most productive time.. doesn't make sense to the mind... "slow down to speed up"... but i agree fully with you.

there's a cool analogy with the little puppy who is so excited about you coming home. And it tries to run forward on the kitchen floor. But it runs so fast that it stays at the same place... Only a wise "experienced" dog knows that if he's making one step after another, without haste he is actually getting somewhere :)))

I don't even know if that made sense.. I hope it did! haha

Yes it makes sense - I've been that puppy!
Oh, and here's another one - to shoot an arrow it has to be pulled back before it goes forward.
Looks like a lot of creative people have experienced it!

oh yess! I like this one even better!! I experience it just now again. I'm in a period of study and see that while learning my results are quiet worse than before... i guess that's the adjustment phase of learning something new... I HOPE!!! :))

Well...there's beginner's luck! But mostly for me there's fail and frustration - too much aiming for perfection.
I took a pottery class and just knew I'd be brilliant at it! I wasn't but still I was so proud of my work. Now when I look at it I see sad and lumpy pots.
In sewing and needlework there is what they call the "Frog Stitch" - "Rippit, rippit, rippet" - meaning undoing your stitches when you notice you've made a mistake. :-)
But I think (hope) it's part of the process.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70625.87
ETH 3563.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71