The Start Of A Series

in #asapers6 years ago (edited)

I'm always doing commissions dog faces and at times , even though I love it, I need to venture into a different place. When my kids were young I would do a "series" of paintings or drawings and they would be all over the house. Back then I would put my "pain" on paper or canvas and when my daughter would hear the word "series" she would cringe.

After I met Roger, @rwedegis, he said that no one would really want to hang my pain on their walls since they had their own. So, dog portraits became the norm. Now I wanted to venture into something a little different for me, a stretch that would be fun.

IMG_7085.JPG

There's a huge field right next to the campground we are staying at for the summer and that's where Lola and I go for our walks. One night one of our neighbors decided to come walk with us and then she took my phone and took a few photos.

IMG_7092 (1).JPG

I have wanted to do some plein air paintings this year. Be outside and just paint what I see. So different then studio work and harder since the light changes quickly. The farmer near us mows the field for the hay and it hopefully keeps the tick population in check , and right now it looks like a scene from a Monet painting. I'm in love. My other goal is to paint the little pond on the property with the pond lilies. Soo Monet don't you think?

The start of the "Field Series..Small Impressionistic Oils"

IMG_7123.JPG

They are 6" x 6" on panel.

IMG_7124.JPG

It's a start and I'm excited to see where this will take me.

Warmly,
Sheila

@asapers
@originalworks
@elegance

https://www.sheilawedegisart.com

Sort:  

I absolutely love that painting Sheila; it does have a Monet feel for sure!

Roger is always so full of wisdom, isn't he? And yes, I know I've opened that up for you to fill in what he's really full of haha (Just kidding Roger!)

I do remind him every so often what he's full of but is great on his wisdom. (I do fight him on it but it turns out to be a truism) (Shhhh, don't tell him.lol)

Thank you Lynn. I'm excited to do more. That field inspires me!!
Hope all is well with you and that Brian is doing well. I think of you both often!! xx

hahaha It's our secret Sheila :)

You're excited to do more, and I'm excited to see it :)

We had a pretty good week, my brother and family were here for a visit, and Brian rested up so we could enjoy it!

Thanks Lynn.
That's great your brother and family came for a visit. Connecting with family, someone who knows you FOREVER is so healing. Happy Brian was rested and enjoying the visit too. <3

That's right @swedegis; it's so "easy" to be with family. Brian rested for days in advance and really enjoyed himself too. He did sleep for the next three days though 😂

How awesome and serendipitous! I just tagged you and Roger in a post, that talks about a new Steemit initiative to support artists, and here you are, sharing a new art series! YAY!

Here's the link, by the way -

https://steemit.com/elegance/@elegance/introducing-elegance-a-decentralized-art-community-platform-on-steem

Beautiful start to your work, and I know exactly where that field is - excellent choice!

So thoughtful of you @traciyork :) ...as usual!

Geez I've been missing this! "mwah" right back atcha!! :)

Thanks Traci! I LOVE that field!! Last year it inspired me to do watercolors, this year oils!! Breakfast again soon?? Men or no men, I'm ready!! :-)

You're very welcome, and most definitely soon! 😊

This is an awesome series! The paintings look even better in person!

Thanks Hon. That gets you Avocado toast for breakfast!!!! <3

Beautiful artworks! I love the colours and the texture as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17