AskSteem: What are your thoughts on Voice?

in #asksteem5 years ago

No, not Golos, but the Twitter competitor that Block One announced recently.

From what I've gathered so far without researching much or caring enough about it:

You can't buy it, only earn. Sell I guess you can, but who's gonna buy it if you can't buy it? Anyway.

ID Verification to fight bots and fake users. Remember that one Korean game that had strict ID verifcation to avoid botters yet people went and purchased the rights to use social security numbers from homeless people? Yeah that was just for a game.

Then something about buying power to boost your comments to the top. Something about if you've boosted your comment/post but someone outboosts you you get part or all of the bid back. Interesting I guess.

Anyway, those of you that were on Steem before we went linear curve may remember all the "black market/behind the curtain" deals that took place. Yes, people sold their voting power either way, now it's just way more public since most voting power is concentrated in bid bots.

What I'm trying to say is that no matter how much you'll try to avoid abuse, fake, bots, etc. If there's money to be made they will find a way.

There's even gold sellers spamming ads on a private WoW server I'm playing on right now and the owners can not figure a way to silence them.

People will want to remain anonymous for a lot of reasons, to exclude all of those just to minimize bot use seems a bit weird to me. There are plenty of verified accounts that do much worse things than anonymous accounts.

Anyway, feel free to discuss. I don't believe I will be trying Voice out so I may be a bit biased to think that they hyped it up way too much for what they delivered. But that's crypto, no surprise there.


Sort:  

Too much hype for what it is. I think once again it shows a blinkered view of mainstream that people in crypto can often have. Sounds non mainstream'y.

I did a little gif, summing up the presentation and the hype prior to it last night :0)

Steemkillah.gif

Hahaha @meesterboom, that Gif is accurately & mischievously, guileful. :)

Having a ¿Voice? eh? bah, nah! at the moment their KYC-ed project seems like that other Social Network where The Unexplained Lives. };)

I guess I will wait a bit to invest and get some REAL RUONs instead. You know. Those Social Network Tokens that actually can be purchased from the beginning.

Oh! and I can't wait to see your Gif about their Revolution either. LoL

Hahaha, nice roundup there!!! Maybe I will do a combined platform animation!!

Cool! I will be eagerly looking forward for that hybrid animation mate. :)

nice gif!

LOL

I asked Dan why one with original content can't use his nickname instead of fully disclose his identity

lar1.jpglar2.jpg

dan larimer.. disapointment of the year......

lol his second comment is literally telling you to link your identity to your other platforms. :D

Dan Zuckerberg.

1 year after eos launch, 4kkk dollars in the pocket, kyc without mvp and no voice to nonames)

Trash. I don't wanna dox myself to a central authority for a supposed blockchain product. This makes no fucking sense. It doesn't sound like a blockchain product. It sounds like a completely fake centralized product using a blockchain to make money.

Maybe after Dlive they realized people are not ready for blockchain yet.

What I'm trying to say is that no matter how much you'll try to avoid abuse, fake, bots, etc. If there's money to be made they will find a way.

Totally. Remember @onosocial and their verification system? Worthless.

You see a bunch of "verified profiles" spamming and plagiarizing. There was little the system in place could do about it.

I don't like singing competitions at all.

But besides that, the same crypto people will jump in and build a foundation before any normies do. The normies can't even buy into it to get a helping hand. It is a weird set up and there are going to be lots of familiar crossposters no doubt. From the screenshots I have seen, At least it looks like they hire professional UI designers though.

You are right, it will be the same Crypto people like folks from here who will join Voice!!

This thing of adoption will really take long to catch up..

There are already many familiar crossposters me inclusive hahaha.

You are right, it will be the same Crypto people like folks from here who will join Voice!!

This thing of adoption will really take long to catch up..

There are already many familiar crossposters me inclusive hahaha.

Same people owning, same people posting. So much for unique content.

Typical hype, I agree. And you're right, where there is money to be made, people will find a way to make it. Some more corrupt in their pursuit than others.

Posted using Partiko Android

This one will certainly not kill Steem. But if it is at all capable of reaching even a tiny minority of mainstream social media users, it may get them thinking about how they're getting screwed by the platforms. That is good for the space. Voice is a very different product from Steem that comparing them would be comparing apples and oranges. First of all, it's just an app.

You sell your Voice influence for fiat outside of the platform. It’s still viable for influential people, just not directly from the platform itself.

Posted using Partiko iOS

So the tokens are untransferable? But not on chain where the deal could be an atomic event through the use of a smart contract? Oh well.

Right. Sponsorships and product placement through side deals. All off chain.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Oh okay, thanks for the info!

One of my surprises is that it came out on beta launch after months of 'Announcement of an Announcement'.

Unlike you however, I will sign up for voice. Steem is home to me but I have learnt to detach my emotions from innovations.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah I don't have any particular emotions either way, this one didn't seem exciting to me, there's plenty of other coins out there doing a lot more. ^^ Good luck though!

OK. That's true. The hype created for a project like Voice is funny to me but only time will tell.

There are indeed lots of other projects far better than it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well I am not mad about it all. I'm disappointed that they haven't released straight away since that "secret" was the whole flag for this conference!

Posted using Partiko Android

They even don't have an email for confirmation!!!
So much hype just like ONO did!!!

But I think ONO it is pretty big and still growing in Asia 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73