Does Steem really have that bad of a shit posting problem?

in #asksteem5 years ago

All of Steem knows about shit posting. We probably have all shit posted at times...at least on one of our accounts. Some people have dedicated accounts to shit posting so they don't put those shitty posts that they feel bad for getting huge upvotes on on their main account. TBH I think quite a few of my posts are their own kinda shit posts. I sort of just rant on subjects sometimes. Like now.

I like watching YouTube occasionally lately though. I like my own weird form of videos. Sometimes I use it to watch news. Sometimes I watch science videos. I'm a particular fan of Isaac Author. Lately I've gotten into watching people buying shit at thrift stores and talking about why they bought they to resell them or whatever. If they just walk around and pick up crap, I don't like them. But, inevitably, while watching YouTube, eventually they start recommending I watch absolute garbage. Look at this amazing blah! We found WHAT? All sorts of shit videos with clickbait. It got me thinking.

Do we really have a shit posting problem? Or is it actually around the same or similar to other platforms, with maybe slight more incentive due to the immediate post rewards. There certainly are a lot of shitty posts on YouTubes of absolute crap videos, often with tricks to get you to watch them. Sometimes people put some minimal amount of effort into them...or even quite a bit of effort...and yet they are still absolute shit TBH.

Do all platforms suffer from this? Is it actually worse on Steem? Or do we just care more because we all started on Steemit and they still haven't fucking fixed Trending while shit posters are bidding their way into that shit show. If YouTube had a way to bid your way into a Trending tab, would it actually be worse? What about Twitter? The president of the United States is a total shit Tweeter.

So, is this just normal?

emotions1916662_1280.png
Such a pretty piece of shit!
Image by iirliinnaa (source)
Used under Pixabay License

Sort:  

Been here a while and still not sure what exactly constitutes a shitpost. Honestly? I mostly see people using it as a sort of self-deprecation.

Sometimes they do it to be funny. Sometimes they do it because they know their post is low-effort and they feel that they need to make an excuse for it. But the one that is most annoying to me is when someone writes a decent, moderate-to-high-effort opinion piece or rant and passes it off as a "shitpost."

Discussion is valuable content. If your post has three or four paragraphs of you ranting on something, it's not a shitpost... it's just a post.

Well, I personally see more shit comments lately...but that's because I don't go to trending anymore. :P

Some of my rants are good discussions...other ones rely on people to interact to get somewhere...and that usually doesn't happen. Me ranting about how I uninstalled an anti-virus on my phone is kinda a shit post...but it also strikes on a few important issues, like companies inundating you with alerts because they have no respect for your time, or severely low quality products that likely don't actually protect you very well. But the level of shit posts I do is not the same as some others. I don't know if it would even be possible for me to shit post as well as some people do. Plus, after I'd have to buy some upvotes on it to get it to trending.

There are all sorts of levels...there are fertilizer posts that can grow you flowers...and there's concentrated human refuse taken from municipalities. Sometimes they're so bad that the neighbors start to complain.

One’s view of shitposting is going to be entirely based on the individual’s relationship with social media and what they believe the platform is meant for - if you are all about high-quality long form articles and stories, you will recognize most posts here as shitposts (including many, but not all, of mine, lol). However, if you come from Instagram or Facebook and expect a similar experience here, you won’t be dissapointed with a picture with a few sentences or a DLike link with some commentary. I believe that our high standards for content is a great thing and it applies positive pressure on the quality of our communities’ contributions, but many different styles of posts are incentivized by dapps, some of which are not so involved or thoughtful. That being said, I think dapps like Steepshot and DLike are important additions to the platform for more casual writers/sharers, “average Joes” like myself and so many others.

Well, as far as Dapps for photographers...if they don't encourage any writing, a lot more in dependent on the photo...and many photos aren't necessarily so amazing that everyone would recognize it as worthy of one of their limited votes for the day. Of course, it's not that many of those photos aren't worth more than they're rewarded. Many are. I've seen some amazing photos and drawings on here, with and without text, that weren't rewarded anywhere near what they are worth.

But compare it to places like Facebook and Instagram, and the bar drops a lot. But you don't see how much the influences earn on Twitter and Facebook and Instagram. You can't see that they earned $5k to push some product or $500 or nothing. You also can't see what they earn from affiliates. I'm not necessarily sure that you should be able to either...well...at least assuming they aren't sketchy AF. The fact that we can see how much people earn from their posts directly does raise the bar a lot...and open ourselves up to criticism. That's good and bad.

I also like posts occasionally where people share things they found that are cool. I don't think those posts are worthless. And sharing a funny meme isn't necessarily worthless...we just gotta figure out a way to do it legally.

Those drugwars fights are the definition of shitposts -adding no value and just hoping for an upvote. I did post one yesterday but then felt bad for my followers. Never again.

The comments on steemhunt can be pretty cringe worthy at times.

HOW DARE YOU! Now I will have to put you on a flagging list forever. Well...if I could be asked... :P

It made me feel dirty...

That was probably the only good thing about it.

You got a 8.02% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @geekpowered! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

We do not have a shit post problem. We have an arrogance problem.

We should encourage people to engage.

So...then my thinking I shit post is just my low self esteem? Well...that's possible.

But some posts are totally shit...but possibly no more or less than YouTubers and Facebookers.

But, with that said, I don't think that every post has to be insane quality. Wiki-posting is it's own form of shit posting as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85