AskSteemit: Besides Steem, what coins do you hold and why?

in #asksteemit6 years ago


Hey everyone!

There's so many different currencies out there lately and probably even more to come!

Each one has it's own goals, teams and developers. It's own history, age, success and future ahead of it and all of them share the same goal. To decentralize the world with blockchain technology.

I want to take the time to thank Satoshi Nakamoto for releasing the whitepaper to the mother of all coins: Bitcoin and it starting the whole blockchain revolution. Fun fact: the genesis block of Bitcoin has the following text in the data - "The Times 03/Jan/2009 Chancellor on brink of second bailout for banks". A powerful message and for what the technology was intended, to give the control of the money back to the people.

I remember when there was only Bitcoin and Litecoin and a few other alts were starting to come to life. It was simpler times, you didn't have all too much news and events to follow of what was happening with the currencies. The effects of the first big pump that sent BTC above $1000 and LTC above $40 for the first time caused a chain reaction of new coins coming alive, each with their own goal and solutions, some unnecessary and some that are still strong and going forward to this day.

It has become hard to follow all these currencies over time, even if you work on it full time there just is too much. Each big even that causes a lot of adoption to blockchain makes even more innovation come to life. Here is which coins I follow and hold some of and why.


Ethereum - the currency that brought so many more coding languages to the blockchain and enabled so many new projects to be built upon it. One of the first to rise to 2nd place on marketcap in such a short time but probably not the last. I've loved following this project evolve under the lead of it's genius creator.

Litecoin - although I don't really think this one has any true innovation, I hold some just in case cause new money is often not that smart and only goes for the top currencies or the ones that have been alive the longest.

Ripple - I have really not followed this one in a long time, being the coin that most banks love it's been more of a "if you can't beat 'em, join 'em" kind of deal and am glad I was able to get me some cheap.

Iota - new innovative technology that differs from many of the other blockchains - has had some nice partnerships over the short time it has been live and holding it just in case.

Monero - one of the real contenders to true anonymous transactions and wallets, this one I will hold and stack away somewhere without touching for a long time and still believe it is undervalued even though I've recommended buying it at ~$50 in the Alt-News posts I used to write. Worth looking into.

EOS - another brilliant creator who brought us Bitshares and Steem, holding some of this as speculation and to see what happens with it when it goes live.

NEO - the chinese version of Ethereum. China often likes to have their own version of currencies and this may be a reason why they've been banning Bitcoin back and forth. The same way how they have all of their own products pre-blockchain I believe they will go that route with this innovation as well.

Yoyow - same reason as NEO, this will be more in style to Steem. Not really planning on being an active voter on that platform when it's live but holding some since I got them cheap on binance just in case.

Bitconnect - lol, just kidding. Didn't touch that when it was $1 and won't touch it even if someone were to sell it for $1 to me now. Only a matter of time til it collapses and makes so many new and unknowing investors lose a lot of money.

Sia and Storj - both focusing on storage solutions and have great dev teams. I see them doing well in the future and definitely holding these long term.

One of my latest interests has been Enjin coin - this one focuses on making ingame items simply tradable with their coin among people and has some great solutions to offer to not congesting the ethereum network as much as the cryptokitties have done. With a solid team behind it and a company that have been alive for many years prior, they recently had their ICO and have been selling under ICO price for some time before they got back up. Looking to hold this one long term as well.

As an altcoin enthusiast there are a bunch of other coins I've stashed away but thought I wouldn't mention all of them and leave more room for discussion among other Steemians in this post.

Which coins do you hold and why, Steemians?

Leave a comment down below, in these #AskSteemit posts I reward good discussions more than usual.


Sort:  

ETC
My Ethereum Classic holdings are 25% of my total crypto portfolio.

Also, I want to comment on your LTC note that there is not much innovation in it - I think there is, as LTC is one of the earliest branches of BTC it is much faster and cheaper in transaction fees. I guess that is a nice advantage over many other leading coins.

Personally, I like EOS, ADA and XLM. They are all fast, scalable and have/will have a lot of very useful features. I'm generally less keen on ETH and the ERC20s because that blockchain has been proven not to work on a large scale. It's amazing how far this technology has progressed in the last few years and the amazing things coins can do besides merely being used as a medium of exchange.

Nice post and interesting discussion.

My portfolio includes:

  • VERTCOIN (good developement and great community, is similar to Litecoinbut, in comparison, really undervalued. I bought when it was 0,8 dollars and still hold)
  • BITCOIN CASH in case of flippening, I don't want to be whitout an Hedge. Bought at 500$
  • MONERO I belive that anonymous coin will be very important as government will try to tax crypto. Bought at 110 $
  • LITECOIN Efficent and with a gret road map. Bought at about 70$
  • KOMODO Decentralize crypto environment via atomic swaps and decentralized ICOs seems cool. Bought at about 2.80$
  • GOLEM sold 50 days ago to buy Bitcoin cash at 550$. I am waiting for the next great bitcoin cash pump to sell and come back to golem. In my opinion Golem has an enormous market potential, but the golem's key update is really late.
    Golem is waiting for golem brass update, that will enable real market-use for Golem Token and will be probably released in 2018's first quarter. This is why i sold golem for bitcoin cash: there is yet a lot of time to wait for this big price-sensitive news. Actually if i had to sell bitcoin cash to golem, I would probably increase my original stake of at least 60-80%, so i am a bit relaxed..
    Probably when brass will be ready, we will see a huge price pump and then a lot of attention for possible partnerships. At the moment golem is a sort of alpha version, brass will bring real usecases for this project.. So wait and see.

No leverage, it is a very very small portfolio.. But it is giving great satisfactions :D :D
PS: merry christmas!

STEEM, SBD, BTC, BTC Cash, BTC GOLD, DASH, ETH, LTC, ETC, MONERO, LISK, WAVE, Siacoin, ARDOR, Dopecoin, FUNFAIR, VERGE, IOTA, EOS, Bitshares, NEO, DOGE, StellarLumens, Viberate, Burst, Bytecoin, Bitbean, Ethlend, Yoyow, Latoken, Ripple, GOLEM, OMG, ECC, Zennies, Mint, Espas
I am holding all these coins because I am a crypto junkie lolz and because I like the projects behind them some of them I am mining. I also hold them as a kind of pension and as a backup if the FIAT system crashes.
Merry Christmas and LOVE&LIGHT for all of you :)))

I see you crypto junkie!!! That's alot of coins lol straight to the moneyssss

Yup and I am sure 2018 more tokens will be bought :)
MERRY Xmas

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO YOU!!

STRAIGHT UP CRYPTO JUNKIE!! WOW! Dopecoin I like to see ;-)

Bytecoin ,bitcoin,iota,eos,bitbean,,i'm holding those coin because i'm a crypto junkie and because i like the project on some of the mining.i also hold them as part of reset and backup when fiat system crashes.merry christmas to you all lolz..

I like NEM, IOTA, and NEO

NEM: It's the most advanced, already POS actually better as it's POI (proof of importance), combination of a public and private block chains, fast, low fee, pragmatic business friendly smart asset, active, building reputation in emerging markets, etc.

IOTA: Uses Tangle not blockchain. This makes it possible for micro transactions quickly with no fees, quantum computer resistant. Tangle is infinitely scalable, as it gets faster and faster with more users. (my thought): Has first mover advantage with Tangle. Tangle needs a lot of users for it to work well, meaning it could be difficult for clone Tangles to compete and take over.

NEO: Possibly going to be huge in China. https://squawker.org/analysis/chinas-cryptocurrency-neo-will-change-the-world-as-we-know-it/

all three still have room to grow, each one has a market cap around 2.5 billion, compared to ETH 32 billion or BTC 70 billion.

@acidyo I agree with you once again, I do gather the same coins as you! I like ripple too for the long term! Not only because it's the bank thing, but also because it's premined and I believe that mining will turn out to be a huge problem in the future. There's many reasons why I believe it is going up, but it will take time!

As I've mentioned before I use DOGE for daily trades. Low fees!
I believe in Monero as well, especially because it's anonymous.

By the way I love IOTA. That and BTS are my favourites.

Highest Regards
@lordneroo

I like the coins you have! I haven't heard on enjin coin before! I will look into it!

Ethereum - the idea of smart contracts is one of the best ideas to date with blockchain technology. I think Vitalik is one of the sharpest guys out there.

SmartCash - I love their SmartRewards and the push for implementing the coin in commerce in Africa, India, and Venezuela. It is based on the Zerocoin protocol and is extremely affordable and undervalued. They should have masternodes aka Smartnodes coming out in the next few days.

Vertcoin - they have one of the most active development teams from what I have seen. I like that they are ASIC resistant and have already implemented segwit and lightning network.

my longs are
NEO because as you said Chinese are backing their efforts
STRAT they are putting some serious efforts
STEEM first crypto with real world use case & product
SYS decentralized eBay

Nice one! :)

I have a pretty good collection of pennies, nickels, and dimes. I was investing in quarters since they are worth more but I spent them on cigarettes last week. I also have a few New Zealand coins from when my brother went there.

I don't have any! I joined Steemit because it seemed like an easy way to begin learning about cryptocurrencies. So far I'm very overwhelmed lol. I'm fascinated by all of this and I want to invest, so I need to start somewhere. If anyone has any suggestions as to where I can learn more it would be greatly appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62837.82
ETH 3037.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80