A Question For Professional Or Semiprofessional Photographers About Selling Your Photos

in #askteem5 years ago (edited)

While on my trip to Tampere last weekend, I took some landscape photos. I posted them to the Tampere Facebook group on Monday. The group has about 30,000 members and I have received some 950 likes (and counting). Yesterday, I was contacted by a lady who asked if she could use my photographs in condolence cards. I asked her what condolence cards she meant. She replied to me that she makes condolence cards for funeral homes and wants to have pictures on them. I asked how many she sells per year. She hasn't replied.

Now, what I'd like to know is that since the cards are some sort of a business for her, I shouldn't give them away for free. What do you think would be an appropriate level of compensation? I'm going to continue asking her questions about her card business.

I'm a relatively inexperienced photographer. Photography has been a hobby of mine for about a year. I only bought my first DSLR last autumn. I don't want to get fleeced by I don't want to ask too much, either.

I must say that I'm completely stunned that anyone would want to print my photographs and use them commercially. I'm a total newbie in this field and I have no idea how to proceed and what kind of compensation is adequate. Also, I wonder if it would make sense to give a few for free just to make something of a name for myself.

Here are a few photos from the series I published in the Facebook group:

DSC_0469

DSC_0466

DSC_0467

DSC_0463

DSC_0468

Sort:  

I sell on Twenty20 and they give you $2
Adobe stock gives you like a buck
You can name your own price on Fine Art American and Red Bubble

Thanks a lot for the advice!

The lady told me the funeral homes pay her about €10 per card. I told her she can use my images in that particular post if I get 20% of her profits per card. If her profit is, say €3, then I get €0.60 per card sold. The business is more like a hobby and not a seriously large operation. I also wanted one card for myself. She told me she's got images of her own but that she preferred some of mine. If she sells something like 200 cards a year, then I'd get something like €120. That's something and way more I could ever have believed possible at this stage. But we'll see if that's ok with her.
$rewarding 60% 15 min

Congratulations @markkujantunen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 9000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 10000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

ha ha ha. lol! capture one time. use all over life.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85