WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.15 - "Freestyle."

in #aswcontest6 years ago

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWfreestyleWins00a.jpg

Holy shit... that has been one of the most production weeks yet of the contest. We had just under 150 qualifying entries and it was not an easy one to judge. So much great content! I spent the last three hours looking back through all of them and whittling down my selections. So many of these winners could be swapped out with lots of other ones too. Again, you guys did great. I ended up going with choice that I'd love to see myself, in person, the most as well as a few that appealed to me overall. Okay, lets get down to the winners!

The Theme:


This week's theme = Freestyle! Anything goes!. Well.... ALMOST anything. It just has to be abandoned. Helpful Hint: the crustier, more grown-in, more dilapidated, the better!


The results:

1st Place Winner - 10 x 100% Power Upvotes: @dmytrokorol

This... is pretty much my vision of abandoned shit paradise! I love the old brick construction. I love the creeping ivy that's slowly swallowing it up. I love the history. As much has I kept looking around through the entries, I kept finding myself coming back to this one by @dmytrokorol, and that's why it earns the top spot on the list!
From the author: "After the death of Princess Dorothea in 1862, her younger son, Aleksander Edmund Marquis de Talleyrand-Périgord, became the owner of the palace. On his initiative, the palace and orangery were reconstructed according to the design of A. Jaekel. The palace was burnt in 1945 and was never rebuilt.."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/photography/@dmytrokorol/walking-nearby-1-palace-of-princess-dorothea-of-courland-in-zatonie

2nd Place Winner - 5 x 100% Power Upvotes: @zirochka

Once again, it was a tossup between this entry and the one above as two who gets 1st place. They are pretty similar in appearance, actually. I especially liked the architecture and arches in this one. Lots of great history as well. Check it out for yourself as there's lots of great photos and information!
From the author: "Now the building is completely abandoned. It collapses and overgrown with trees and weeds. Its appearance causes both admiration, and regrets, and if to be honest, shame."
ENTRY =https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@zirochka/abandoned-beauty-dominican-church-in-yazlovets-ukraine-en-ua

3rd Place Winner - 3 x 100% Power Upvote: @capelight

I love things like this. Stuff that's a good 150 years old, but not on display in a museum or on exhibit. Just sitting out where it was when it was abandoned. Like a small time capsule that makes up the area when you're standing there looking at it.
From the author: "I spotted this wonderful old vintage baling or threshing machine abandoned on a farm in Sandveld recently. This is an area near the small town of Hopefield. I'm not sure exactly what this piece of machinery was used for. Amazing that this old relic from another time still seems to have all it's metal parts. The scrap merchants have not yet laid their eyes on it."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@capelight/vintage-baling-machine-abandoned-from-another-age

Honorable Mentions - 1 x 100% Power Upvote each - In no particular order:

@soill

"The chain was already embedded in this tree ten years ago, when the current owners bought the house it lives behind. I suspect the tree had been chained together in an effort to fix it from splitting and prevent portions from falling on to the house or garage."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@soill/chained-tree-s-revenge

@idkpdx

"I flew from Oregon to the East Coast to meet up with a photographer buddy of mine to drive back to Oregon and one of the places we stopped along the way was Forest Haven, an abandoned mental institution in Maryland. Below is a staircase​ from one of the buildings."
https://steemit.com/photography/@idkpdx/my-entry-for-abandoned-shit-weekly-aswcontest

@oscarcede

"This is a ship that transported passengers and heavy cargo such as: Cars and trucks, Their route was from Puerto la Cruz to the island of Margarita and vice versa; This boat called "Maria Rosario" has been abandoned for more than 10 years at the Ferry Terminal in Puerto la Cruz, this transport unit, could have been recovered at the time because it stopped working only due to mechanical failures, but due to the lack of maintenance the saltpeter ended up turning it into scrap metal."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@oscarcede/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-15-freestyle-the-silent-death-of-a-boat-in-the-bay

@fivealive55

"an abandoned high school that I explored in Missouri. The flooded hallway provided an amazing reflection that was begging to be captured. I am also including photos that I took of the gym and auditorium. There were no lights on in the building so these are all long exposure shots."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@fivealive55/asw-contest-entry-abandoned-school-in-missouri


FINAL THOUGHTS


Whew! That was a tough one! I'm still not 100% comfortable with my selections as there were SO many great ones to choose from. There were also so many entries that I still haven't gotten to my 20% upvotes to all qualifying entries, but don't worry, I'll get to them all! Thanks to everyone for making this week of Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest such a success!

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 16 will be announced tomorrow, so look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be!

Make sure to follow @customnature to keep up with all Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest happenings!

Sort:  

Congrats to the winners ! I screwed up my entry and tagged it with a "S" on the end of aswcontest What a goof up. Oh well, try again!

Congratulations to the winners, it's a great selection!

Congrats to all the winners! And thanks a lot or selecting my work, @customnature!

Congratulations to all the winners.
They are all beautiful. Im curious about the story behind that abandoned places/things.

Congrats to all Winners, thanks a lot @customnature
maybe one day I also win again

Very nice entries. I'll try to do better next time.

Congratulations to all the winners! Great stuff - I did mY best to check as many submissions as I could. There really was a lot of great stuff!

Congrats to all the winners! Some truly hauntingly beautiful photos, and right up my alley! I LOVE this kind of stuff! (don't even get me started on abandoned barns!) Also thanks for such an awesome and interesting contest, @customnature! I look forward to entering many of them!

Congratulations winners and @idkpdx I LOVE your photo, that is amazing!!

You're very welcome... I'm following you now, I don't know how I haven't found you before now : )

Yeahhhhh that's one I'm not 100% comfortable with. lol It was between @idkpdx's entry and that old thrasher for 3rd place. I like the stairs photo way better, but the subject of the other a tad more. This was an extremely difficult week to pick winners!

I don't envy your position, great for having the opportunity see so many amazing things but selecting winners would be tough!

Thank you for sharing my work and huge congrats to the winners!

I seriously love your photo as well. If it were strictly a photography contest, you'd have been in the top 2. 😬

Thank you! Seriously, I appreciate it. And no worries, You'll be seeing me involved in more of your contest! :)

Much obliged! You've got yourself a new follower too.

Absolutely agree! @idkpdx's stairs are just terrific! And thank you so much for selecting my work, @customnature! It was a pleasure

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69796.92
ETH 3521.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.70