WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.16 - "Creepy."

in #aswcontest6 years ago (edited)

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWcreepyWinner.jpg

It's great to be back writing on Steemit, folks. Some of you may have noticed that I've been missing in action for the whole week. Well, my computer died on me. It's an older MacBook Pro and the graphics card went. Long story short, after working on it for like 12 hours today, I actually have it kinda working again. I literally got it working around 15 minutes ago. Since I couldn't put the time into judging that the contest deserves, I reached out to "graveyard" week guest judge @creepycrazylife!

JUDGE: @creepycrazylife


@creepycrazylife picked the winners for this week's "creepy" theme. He's much more qualified to judge something like this anyway. I mean, aside from his username, go check out his blog and follow him if you enjoy the creepy, morbid, and macabre! Now let's see what he came up with:

The Theme:


This week's theme = CREEPY! Something that gives you the creeps!. Over the last few weeks, there's been many entries that made me say "Wow, that's creepy!"... so let's feature those types of things this week! Now I know everyone is creeped out by different sorts of things, so just have it be something that YOU find eerie. Past entries that come to mind are weird children's shoes in the woods, abandoned dolls, graveyards, WWII things, creepy old houses, etc. You CAN edit them to make the photos more creepy, but I ask that you don't STAGE the photographs (like adding props and stuff).


The results:

1st Place Winner - 10 x 100% Power Upvotes: @martinphoto

I feel very confident with @creepycrazylife judging this because THIS is also one I knew I was going to pick as soon as it was posted. It's hard to get more eerie than Chernobyl and I will definitely get to this location at one point in the future.
From the author: "Once the most expensive city in the Soviet Union, Pripyat (Ukraine) was abandoned ~32 years ago because of the Chernobyl accident, which caused radiation to cover the city. Pripyat was located just 3km from the Chernobyl nuclear power plant. Almost 50,000 people had to be evacuated quickly. Therefore all things remained in their places. The town is still there and looks incredibly creepy, especially at night."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@martinphoto/exploring-the-abandoned-city-of-pripyat-chernobyl-creepiest-ghost-town

2nd Place Winner - 5 x 100% Power Upvotes: @alfheim15

I remember seeing a television show about these hanging coffins in the Philippines a few years ago and thinking they sure were creepy. Definitely a great selection by this week's judge and one I completely agree with.
From the author: "This photo was taken in Sagada Mountain Province.
As you can see coffins were hanged in the mountain and many people called it a "Hanging Coffins"
The ethnic group says that the hanging coffins could prevent bodies by being taken by the beast and also bless the soul eternally."

ENTRY =https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@alfheim15/asw-contest-16-creepy-aswcontest

3rd Place Winner - 3 x 100% Power Upvote: @bil.prag

An eerie setting and photo that feels like it's something out of a horror movie!
From the author: "An old palace in Vlajkovac. This was just exploring and scouting, we should come back to do some scary photos..."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@bil.prag/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-16-creepy-my-entry

Honorable Mentions - 1 x 100% Power Upvote each - In no particular order:

@fachrulreza

"Kete Kesu is a place that is a traditional cemetery that there are crate and skulls that have been hundreds of years old. this place has the magical and historical value of Tana Toraja people."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@fachrulreza/weekly-contest-wasted-shit-16-creepy-kete-kesu-a-tourist-village-in-tana-toraja-aswcontest-65dcc872d6d3a

@idkpdx

"I took this shot of my buddy Jerry while I was visiting some abandoned places on the East Coast. This shot specifically​ was taken at an abandoned mental institution in Maryland known as Forest Haven. Could you imagine walking around the corner with your buddies to see this guy in the room?"
https://steemit.com/photofeed/@idkpdx/41qzha-my-entry-for-abandoned-shit-weekly-aswcontest

@tompi

"Bodies lying among the ruins of the debris caused by the tsunami of Aceh 2004 ago. Photo by by @tompi in Banda Aceh using the NIKON D70 Camera."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@tompi/corpses-among-the-rubble-ruins-of-buildings


FINAL THOUGHTS


Big thanks again to @creepycrazylife for judging this week! I seriously asked him to do so earlier today and he got right on it. Thanks for participating, everyone! Hopefully, if my computer holds up, I'll be back to my normal presence on here and promote the contest better. Now then, I'm off to handout the upvote rewards!

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 17 will be announced tomorrow, so look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be!

Make sure to follow @customnature to keep up with all Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest happenings!

Sort:  

A beautiful contest, congratulations to the winners: really wonderful images!

I'll try to participate in the next one with something unique and original.

A big hug from @amico! ;)

Thank you for the mention! Congrats to the winners!

I think your photo is amazing, I originally had your photo up in the top 3, but when I read the rule of 'not staging', that made me flip flop- since the emphasis is on the person/mask- I love everything about this photo & now I have to find out how far I am from Forest Haven

Unfortunately, I didn't see the rule. I appreciate you taking the time to let me know and the nice words to be said. Forest Haven was a really cool experience. Have fun!

So much amazing creepy abandoned shit !!!! I freaking love it !!! Congratulations to all the winners!!

Thank you for your kind wishes.

this is a joy for me, because several times I participated in the #aswcontest held by @customnature it was the first time I won

Well done all. Great pics, great completion.

Congratulations for all the winners for this week...
You guys did great...!!

thanks @alfheim15.
for me this is just a luck, you are also a great person!.
happy to compete in the next contest. hope you are also a winner!!

good luck @alfheim15

HAHAHAHA thanks.... I also wish the same on your part too.. :)

I've missed this but couldn't couldn't compete with these entries anyway. Looking forward to the next one.

Hopefully can win in the next entry
good luck @erikah

Thank you!

thanks you @customnature for choosing me in the Weekly Wasted Shit Contest,
by getting 100% upvote my post, The following links I post to your upvote

https://busy.org/@tompi/menguak-tabir-kemiskinan-indonesia-or-or-kaya-hasil-alam-tidak-menjamin-kesejahteraan

Successful greetings always make @customnature
good luck for u!

thanks @customnature

good luck for u

congratulations to all the winners... I think I had a chance with this one hahaha :) but really nice selection. Maybe the one with the actual dead person is a bit too much for me, I like creepy but sensitive about it.

I actually agree with you on all accounts! You just had bad luck this time. If my computer did not die on me and I judged, your entry would have been in the top three. But, I couldn’t even get into to steemit so I totally respect the guest/emergency judge’s choices. I’m with you on the dead body too, but in the rules I did say “whatever makes YOU creeped out”, and different people are creeped out by different things.. so it is what it is.

Sure, I totally respect it too... I was not complaining but joking . Everybody shares super haunting places and I honestly always look forward the contest because I love desolate ghostly places.
Still haunted by the stairs selected in previous week.

Good thing your computer works, mine is rebeling too

It was tough to judge, with many entries that were deserving. I thought, if you were that close to the Tsunami where more than 230,000 were killed, it had to be an unnerving or creepy sight.

probably, the world itself is a creepy desolate place in many ways... but I'm more into the desolation and abandonment of the places, a less literal kind of eeriness, death is scary for all of us no doubt in whichever shape it takes. By the way my brother almost died in a rogue wave due to a sea earthquake, he made it though.

LOVE @martinphoto's!!!
However @alfheim15's coffins are really weirding me out!
Congratulations everyone!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29