WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.18 - "Overgrowth."

in #aswcontest6 years ago

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWovergrowth2win00a.jpg

Well, like I said, "overgrowth" has been my favorite theme in the ASW Contest's short history, and this week did not disappoint! I love nature, so I especially love when nature is shown to be winning over man; and all of tonight's winning photos display that quite well. Actually, all of the entires this week did, to some extent or another. Great job everyone! Okay, lets get down to the winners!

The Theme:


This week's theme = OVERGROWTH! The photos must have a focus on plant-life taking over the abandoned subject. You all know I'm a nature enthusiast. I'd like to see some images where nature is really taking something back. The abandoned object can be a building, vehicle, product, whatever... the important part is that weeds, vines, moss, ivy, trees, etc are growing on/over/through it.


The results:

1st Place Winner - 10 x 100% Power Upvotes: @idkpdx

This amazing entry by @idkpdx won first place for several reasons. I love that it's a big industrial facility, which most often is the kind of place that destroys the environment/nature, and here we have the environment/nature destroying it! I love that. Almost poetic. Also, it's one thing to see a house or vehicle being swallowed up by vegetation, but this place is massive! I love the wide shot (above) as it gives you a better idea of the scale of this place. It's got to be a good 6 or 7 stories tall, and those plants and ivies are reaching all the way to the top! Well done. Check out his entire post, they have several great photos of this place!
From the author: "The theme this week is 'Overgrowth' and the first thing that came to mind for me was Gasworks Park in Seattle, Washington. The park itself is right on the water and has amazing views of the city."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@idkpdx/2demh2-my-entry-for-abandoned-shit-weekly-aswcontest

2nd Place Winner - 5 x 100% Power Upvotes: @hangin

At first, I didn't think much of this entry by @hangin because I thought it was just some sort of trees growing over a stone wall or ruins... then I read the description. It's a freaking tomb! He has several photos of these overgrown graves in Thailand. It meets the "overgrowth" theme requirements 100%, but it's probably the place I'd love to see in person the most out of all this week's entries.
From the author: "This cemetery is also in the heart of Bangkok city probably dating back i say about 100 years most tombstones been of the first early settlers of Chinese in Bangkok , Thailand."
ENTRY =https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@hangin/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-18-overgrowth-aswcontest

3rd Place Winner - 3 x 100% Power Upvote: @soyrosa

This entry by @soyrosa hits close to my heart for me. Though the ruins of this church was found in Scotland, I found some very similar ones in Ireland that were being swallowed up by ivy. I loved how it looked so much, that I sculpted a "church ruins" pot for a sprig of Irish ivy from the trip! I hope I get a bit of the same satisfaction from looking at it as I do this contest entry!
IvyPotlil00.jpg
From the author: "I have no idea how long this church in Scotland has been left alone by humans, but look: nature knows it can do whatever and is almost finished eating up the whole facade of this church!"
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@soyrosa/photo-abandoned-shit-overgrowth-what-abandoned-places-do-you-know-in-europe

Honorable Mentions - 1 x 100% Power Upvote each - In no particular order:

@bil.prag

"Baba Pusta is a mansion/palace built by Karolj Fernbah in year 1906. It is located near Aleksa Šantić on the road from Sombor to Subotica. Don't really know why it is abandoned. By the looks of it, it was a magnificent building."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@bil.prag/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-18-overgrowth-my-entry-photo-video

@hippie-witha-gun

"I found this several years ago when I was living in Portland. This is just outside of Washington Park on the west side of town. More than likely it is still there I'm sure. I never seen anything like it and I thought it was cool as shit to see this tree grow around the Fire Hydrant like this."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@hippie-witha-gun/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-18-my-entry-fire-hydrant-taken-over-by-a-tree

@trincowski

"This used to be a set of houses... But after decades of neglect, all that's left are a few ruins."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@trincowski/abandoned-house-left-to-rot-near-vila-do-conde-portugal

@artofwisdom

"In the middle of the vast forests of Poland one can find amazing artifacts of human activity. They all tell some story. Like this soldier boot."
https://steemit.com/photography/@artofwisdom/mossy-is-bossy-abandoned-shit-weekly-18-overgrowth-entry-3-photos


FINAL THOUGHTS


There you have it, folks! Another week of the Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest in the books, and the second round of the "overgrowth" theme. I really love the "overgrowth" idea. Love it when nature wins! What has your guys favorite themes been so far?
Oh! Also, Upvote rewards will be paid out tomorrow. I just checked my voting power and it's kinda low, so I'll let it charge up overnight. I want to give you winners as much $$$ as possible so I'll do the votes tomorrow. :)

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 19 will be announced tomorrow, so look for the official contest post to see what the week's theme will be!

Make sure to follow @customnature to keep up with all Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest happenings!

Sort:  

Awh how cool! Thanks for choosing me as this weeks winner! :)

Yours is totally awesome!!! Congratualtions!

Thank you kindly!

You're most very welcome!! : )

WOW so many amazing entries! Hadn't seen many of them yet, but when I saw the pictures of @idkpdx I immediately noticed a winner! <3

Awesome contest as is proven by above blog post - thanks for organizing it and giving me a place in the top 3! I'll point you the exact location of the church if you're ever going to visit Scotland :D

I appreciate that!

Love love LOVE your church ruins pot by the way! :D Awesome to be inspired to make something after visiting a place, really cool!

aww I had not luck this week but my favourite entry was yours so happy you got the mention ! :)

Congrats to the winners, thanks @customnature
I will take a part again in next theme contest

Thanks for mentioning me in this article! :-D
I'll be waiting for the announcement of the next theme... and hopefully, I can find something to enter.

Thank you for the great job sir Mr @customnature.
Congratulations to the winner. Sir, how do I participate? Followed you sir.

Well done to all the winners, some great AS as always.... Great contest @customnature.... I'm going to take part next week, and am really looking forward to having a go... It's been a while..

Thanks so much @customnature much appreciated even though i was getting bitten by huge red ants photographing this scene it was all worth it now. Definitely would be a eerie experience for you to see it in person :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85