WINNERS! Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest, №.19 - "Black & White."

in #aswcontest6 years ago

Dukes and Duchesses of the Deserted!
ASWb&wIIWinners.jpg

Hey guys! Some of you may have noticed I haven't posted in a couple of days. Things have been busy, busy, busy. I made it a point to get on here and pick some winners for this week's Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest though. Okay, lets get down to the winners!

The Theme:


This week's theme = Black & White! Your photo entries must be in black and white (grayscale). That's it! No limitations on your subject matter, it just has to be presented in black and white.


The results:

1st Place Winner - 10 x 100% Power Upvotes: @alexa.creates

I love the vibe from this entry by @alexa.creates so much that I couldn't bring myself to put it anywhere else but in 1st place. Check out their post, they have video of this house in color and, while it's cool, it has a whole different feel in black and white. It reminds me of old circa 1930's Dust Bowl photos I saw in grade school history books growing up. Awesome.
From the author: "If you ever search for abandoned homes in Oregon, odds are this home will pop up! It is one of the most well known abandoned homes in Central Oregon.."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@alexa.creates/my-entry-for-abandoned-shit-weekly-aswcontest

2nd Place Winner - 5 x 100% Power Upvotes: @zirochka

There were a lot of cool photos of this place on this entry, but I especially liked this one. Maybe it's all the vegetation? Maybe it's that shadow from the left? Maybe just the crumbling brick structure? I don't know. Just awesome thought!
From the author: "Not far from Dubno, just behind the cemetery of the village Tarakaniv there is the abandoned Tarakaniv Fort, once the pinnacle of engineering and military architecture. An officially enclosed object is a hazardous structure, lost in bushes of a toxic Heracleum."
ENTRY =https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@zirochka/tarakaniv-fort

3rd Place Winner - 3 x 100% Power Upvote: @erikah

I think what got me about this entry is that it kinda reminded me of the house from Texas Chainsaw Massacre - one of my favorite horror movies. It's awesome how the chimney is still in tact and the bricks showing behind parts of stucco.
From the author: "These were houses for workers from the nearby furniture factory. Now the place is abandoned and protected. It can't be demolished, only restored to its original state."
ENTRY = https://steemit.com/esteem/@erikah/abandoned-houses-abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-19-black-and-white-d3ebdbde3185d

Honorable Mentions - 1 x 100% Power Upvote each - In no particular order:

@melinda010100

"I chose this photo to enter this week because I liked how all the textures looked in black and white. It was a scene that I saw along a rural highway in the southern part of the USA."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@melinda010100/asw-contest-no-19-black-and-white-a44b5f32f074c

@bil.prag

"Yesterday i was on this photo marathon and we got to this abandoned building. It was kinda creepy."
https://steemit.com/aswcontest/@bil.prag/abandoned-shit-weekly-contest-19-black-and-white

@terminallyill

"The AMX photographed actually belonged to my father and was one of three that he owned after returning home from Vietnam. This one along with it's two sisters were all one owner vehicles, that ultimately ended up sitting on the treeline of our old family property in Maryland where my sister now resides."
https://steemit.com/photography/@terminallyill/asw-weekly-contest-19-b-and-w-the-beginning-of-my-journey-restoring-a-1969-amx-please-read-this-and-show-some-love


FINAL THOUGHTS


Great entries, everyone. LOTS of them! I'm glad I set aside the time to look through all of them today, it really made my night.

Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest - №. 20 will be delayed for one week. I know I'm going to be very busy the next 4 or 5 days, so we'll pick things up again next week. Stand by, folks!


Make sure to follow @customnature to keep up with all Abandoned Shit Weekly Contest happenings!

Sort:  

It's so awesome that you choose my image! I was super excited to enter this week!

Looking forward to future contest!

Thank my love! 🖤

Thanks so much for including my photo! I love this contest...everyone finds the coolest stuff!

Congratulations my friend, you made it :)

Huge Congrats to you!! How fun that we are both included!

Same to you Melinda! It is fun indeed and an honor as well, it's pretty hard to win here. I've only got a mention once and now this. I'm happy 😊

Congrats to both of you it is a hard one to win there are always so many great entries...well done @erikah and @melinda010100 very nice entries that you both put in and of course congrats to all the other winners :)

Thank you my friend, you're right, it's not easy to win, that's why it means so much :)

Your welcome it's so cool i got 2nd place last week and you got 3rd place this week i didn't know or understand how they were going to reward you and when i saw 5 of my posts upvoted by them ...WOW...it was so cool :)

I got a special mention once and got 1 SBD with it. I didn't even know he changed the prizes but I'm happy with this. It's a tough competition, so it's an honor to win :)

Thank you, my friend!

Congratulations to the other winners, especially @melinda010100!
Thank you so much @customnature for choosing my photo! It's an honor because it's not easy to win.

Congrats to the winners

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like me, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Congratulations for all the winners for this week...
You guys did a great job...

13.jpg

Can't wait for the next theme this week ...
What could it be ..?

Congrats to all!

I have seen too much masterpieces... Thanks, @customnature for creating this great contest. It makes me feel part of a world creative community even though I live here in Venezuela.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14