Aussie's in New Zealand: Kia ora from Queenstown

The alarm sounded abruptly, jolting me awake from my slumber in a similar fashion to how a kick in the guts would...They could be synonymous really, that annoyingly loud alarm and a swift kick to the guts, at least when early-morning-wake-ups are concerned anyway.

Slumber. A word suggesting a restful sleep, but I'm not sure one could call what I just had exactly that. It was more of a series of tossing and turning manoeuvres Cirque du Soleil would be proud to have in their circus-show, all conducted over a six hour period. We'd had heavy rain, thunder and lightning all night as well...A nature-supplied motivation to get the hell out of Adelaide or an inauspicious beginning to our vacation. Either way 4am is not my finest hour, especially after very little sleep, but I rose, got ready and headed to the airport comforted by the fact it was all in aid of our * NZ vacation!*

We flew from Adelaide to Melbourne with Qantas, switched to Air New Zealand and winged our way over the Tasman Sea towards Queenstown, our first destination on this vacation odyssey. Above and below you can see a couple of pictures I snapped on the plane as we were coming into Queenstown. They're not great, I know, however the airplane window was iced up and they're taken with my phone. They'll do though I guess.

On arrival we went through immigration easily, breezing through with our Australian passports, picked up luggage and had a smooth transition through customs which, curiously, means another luggage X-ray or physical inspection, which was quite odd. Heightened security or their standard practice? I know not. Anyway, before long we were driving away in our hire car SUV towards our accommodation which is where I sit writing this. You can see a quick snap I took off the balcony here which is where I was sitting initially, sipping coffee, nibbling cookies and writing on steem...Until it got too cold.

So, vacation has started and we're looking forward to getting after it with passion! Tomorrow we're flying a helicopter and landing at Mt Earnslaw Burn and a glacier which will be cool, literally, so we're hoping for decent weather. It looks like we will have it, but anything is possible here - Weather can change in a flash. I'll be taking loads of pictures of course and hope I get a couple good ones to show you.

Anyway, it's getting on to 8:30pm here, dinner time, so I'd better push on - Lasagne tonight if you're wondering. I hope y'all have had a great weekend.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default

Discord: @galenkp#9209 🇦🇺
@curangel curator

Sort:  

Those photos are stunning @galenkp! !trdo

Congratulations @contrabourdon, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @galenkp!
@galenkp got 0.21915000 TRDO & @contrabourdon got 0.14610000 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Thanks mate. Hope to get some more better ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been resteemed by @original.content.

Follow me to keep up-to-date with posts tagged #oc and the author on ocdb's follow list.

If you don't like this message, please reply STOP and I'll cease notifying you ASAP.


Powered by witness untersatz!

Next time I fly, I should try to take photos as well. Beautiful.

4am is a stupid time, I generally refuse to acknowledge anything before 6:30am XD

I'd love to hope across the ditch for a look around, maybe one day, and I'll probably freeze to death XD

You should...It's cold this time of year though. Nice day, cold nights. Well, less-cold days, cold nights.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome view from the accomodation and glad you all made it safely. Enjoy the time bru😀

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks bru. 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

Did you know that you get larger upvotes when posting through TravelFeed.io? That is not all, we are also giving away a ticket to Steemfest to one lucky TravelFeed user. Make sure to read the announcement and opt in! Also, thanks to the travel writing contest by @invisusmundi you can now earn up to 100 STEEM on top of the post rewards when posting through our new platform TravelFeed.io! Read the contest announcement for more information on how to participate.

We are continuously working on improving TravelFeed, recently we introduced EasySignUp and EasyLogin, our first step to make TravelFeed ready for mass adoption.


Learn more about TravelFeed by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Oh that blue. So beautiful. That plane picture is pretty awesome too. Looking at it gave me that dizzy feeling in my stomach for a second. How exciting it all sounds. When I first read your sentence about the helicopter I read it like you were going to actually fly that thing, and I paused, and then realized I was taking it too literally. Lol. Don't fly the helicopter yourself, that seems dangerous...

It's a beautiful place @ginnyannette. Here's one I took today. See my post from just now for a few more. The views from the helicopter were amazing. I'll post more when I get home.

Oh my. Hard to imagine such a place is real.

It's real Ginny, and you'd love it! :)

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80