Aussies in New Zealand: A few extra pictures from today

in #aussies-newzealand4 years ago (edited)

I've been looking through some pictures I took today and thought I would share a few extras considering my post a few hours ago only had a few. I took a lot as you might imagine but here's just a few of my favourite ones.

Here is Lake Wakatipu with snowcapped mountains in the background. I found this pile of rocks, left by some accommodating person. Saved me piling my own up.

This one was taken at Remarkables Ski Fields which is about 13km up a very steep and winding (narrow) road. It wasn't on our agenda, but we added it in and headed up there for a look and although we don't actually ski it looked pretty cool. It was fun to watching the little kids learning to ski - And the bigger ones crashing on their way down the slopes.

Here's Faith exiting our helicopter. It was such an awesome trip, great scenery and just bloody cool!

I took this from the helo. You will note snow on the right side of the mountain in the foreground...That's because the wind keeps that side colder than the other. Obviously with greater amounts of snow both sides would be covered.

I took this as the helo pilot was heading in to drop us onto the floor of Mt Earnslaw Burn after buzzing the summit a few times. In real life the only word is breathtaking.

This is Lake Wakatipu which is pretty much visible from anywhere in Queenstown. With winter over the snow is pretty much gone from the lower peaks but it must be truly spectacular when it's around.

This last one is Lake Wakatipu again. We went for a walk prior to our flight and again this evening as it's so beautiful. The water was cold of course, but it would be a nice spot for a swim in warmer months I think.

Anyway, there's a few more images from today. Tomorrow we have our jet boat ride on the Shotover River which should be cool. I'll not be able to take photos as the ride is a bit rough, but hopefully I will have something else to show you.

Thanks for dropping by.

Design and create your ideal life don't live it by default 🇦🇺

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 100.00% upvote from us for your 9376 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Very nice, the picture of the sharp mountaintops is my favourite!

Thanks Eve. I'm a scrubber with a camera. Someone like you would do this place justice. I don't have, or know how to use Photoshop either, so what you see is as good as it gets.

Posted using Partiko Android

You didn’t do a bad job at all, but it’s quite hard to take a bad photo with views like you have there 😁

Yeah, I could have had my eyes closed and still gotten a decent shot.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

I may have to conquer my fear of being on a plane for hours to get there as part of my bucket list! Maybe I can just stay there! Enjoy!

Posted using Partiko iOS

It's a nice spot. A long way from where you are but probably worth the trip.

Posted using Partiko Android

great post! your pics are awesome

Thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Jeez those landscapes are pure magic. No wonder films have been recorded there.

Pretty cool huh? I could live here.

Absolutely gorgeous! I am so jealous! The water in the lake is so clear it almost looks fake!

It's a pretty cool spot huh? I'll be back again for sure and I haven't even left yet! 🤔

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75