Melbourne: not just world's most livable city, it's also the happiest

in #australia6 years ago

Dear Steemers,

As an Australian, I am happy to announce that "Melbourne's not just the world's most liveable city. It's also the happiest, a survey shows.A poll of 15,000 people from 32 cities - including Barcelona, Berlin, Tokyo and New York - showed the Victorian capital outranks its competitors for happiness, a Time Out City Life Index said. "
Reference: https://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/melbourne-not-just-worlds-most-liveable-city-its-also-the-happiest-survey-20180131-h0rj43.html

I traveled to Melbourne last August (2017). At heart, I am a Sydney girl. Yes, there is competition between the two cities as to which one is the best. Alas, it is official - Melbourne is the greatest!

For me, Barcelona is much better. More livable etc, but the city is still recovering from the GFC. Housing prices and salaries are low. Not in Melbourne though!

When I arrived in Melbourne, I could feel the European vibe almost instantly. There are many Greeks, Italians and Maltese living in this city and you can see the influence. They have the Greek quarter as well as the Italian quarter.

Also, unlike many other Australian cities... Melbournites (Melbournians) don''t seem to give a f&ck about the federal government and their "nanny-state policies".

It is incredibly lively with art, culture and cuisine on tap. Melbourne caters to all nationalities on many different levels.


This is us in Federation Square


Looking at different churches during our stay.

The art scene (especially graffiti art) is big. You can even take a street art tour - https://melbournestreettours.com/

Here is some of the street art I came across


The cost of hotels ranges from very cheap (shared hostel rooms) to expensive. We paid about $80 per night for a central hotel which was in walking distance to everything. Also, public transport is great!

Here is one of the more expensive hotels:

There is more to Melbourne that just coffee and art. There are some amazing historical buildings such as Cook's Cottage. You can dress up in traditional clothes, take a tour of his house and then meander through the Fitzroy Gardens. Cook's cottage was built in 1755, and is the oldest building in Australia and a popular Melbourne tourist attraction. Originally located in Yorkshire, England, and built by the parents of Captain James Cook, the cottage was brought to Melbourne by Sir Russell Grimwade in 1934. Astonishingly, each brick was individually numbered, packed into barrels and then shipped to Australia.

Another site to see is Luna Park. It is a good escape from the city. Melbourne's Luna Park is a historic amusement park located on the foreshore of Port Phillip Bay in St Kilda, Melbourne, Victoria.

There are some great bars. I wish I could remember the name of this one. What struck me as crazy is that they had somehow procured toilet signed from Saudi Arabia!

I hope this helps you plan your trip to the world's greatest and most livable city!

  • Emma.
Sort:  

P.S. I have never met such kind of villain like @ipromote in my life before. He unexpectedly flagged all my 3 Steem blogs which I made elaborately without rhyme or reason. Those wonderful and carefully-chosen pictures inserted in my blogs are being hidden, too, and I also lost my good money/SBD I earned hard through my blogs! I wish all Steemiars know that @ipromote is a big demon, a vampire of Steemit! Such kind of holligan like @ipromotea should be thrown into the burning fire of hell forever! There have been a lot of Steemiars protesting his/her bullying and atrosity.

Just due to @ipromote's existence in Steemit, I even begin to hate our lovely global/international Steemit platform. Such kind of flagging system without any reason in Steemit can only help form "the internet bullying culture"! It is absolutely too bad and intolerable for the development and prosperity of Steemit platform itself.

https://steemit.com/ulog/@goldenpath/the-story-of-the-vampire-of-steemit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78