My Autistic Daughter want to go to Mainstream School

in #autism6 years ago

My daughter has mild Autism.
images (10).jpg

She has been attending Autistic school.

She was recently assessed and it was determined that she still needed to attend the school.

However, my daughter read her assessment.
She didn't like what she was reading.

"They are lying. I'm not like that!" She said.

She is a beautiful young lady who is becoming self aware.

She doesn't find the custom learning environment challenging enough for her.

Her small class is a mix of verbal & non-verbal children, with a variety of learning needs.

My daughter is a wonderful person. She assists the teachers with the non-verbal children.
She is frustrated that her lack of special need is constraining her development.

"I want homework." She says. "I want to go to mainstream school."

Here's the rub, her academic level is about 3-4 years below her age.
She struggles with mathematics and English.
A mainstream school would not provide the custom learning that she requires.
Plus, kids can be nasty sometimes and she may find it difficult to fit in with her peers.

But, she has improved a lot in her reading and is a lot more aware of herself, and her autism.

I am very proud of her ability to synthesise and understand.
A few years ago I was wondering if she would be able to speak.

How to bridge this gap? Enter Kumon.
download (22).jpg

My son had been attending a Saturday tutoring class, but they wouldn't accept my daughter, due to her Autism.
He hated the fact that he was being "punished" by having to do extra studies.

Kumon is a learning system that seemed to fit.
They were initially apprehensive to include my daughter, but they were willing to assess her.
Her results were encouraging and the owner of the learning studio believes he can progress her development.
He was impressed by my daughter's behaviour and personality - as she has a very mature awareness about the world around her.

  • The teaching staff are working hard to gain improvements in her.
  • My son is happy that they go to class together.
  • She is happy that she is now given homework.
  • We've made a deal that if she can improve in her English and Mathematics, and can reach high school level, then we will work on transitioning her to mainstream school.

We will let it progress for a couple of months and see how it all develops.

Next, we'll need to sit with her school to talk about her situation and wishes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63746.34
ETH 3048.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97