Captain Marvel: Not so Marvelous After All

in #avengersendgame5 years ago (edited)

A week or so ago I went and watched Captain Marvel to see if it's really as bad as the haters say. I'm not a fan of the comics nor the lead actress but I was willing to find out the character's story. Even before the movie was made, I think someone else could have played the part better. Even with that in mind, I went and watched with no expectations whatsoever.

Before I forget, feel free to click on the various movie and related links sprinkled in here. A little treat for me won't hurt if you see and buy what you like.

Also, this post is made possible because of @anomadsoul's challenge. Hehe. I might go through with rewatching all the MCU movies. Yay.

And now here's what I think of the movie.

!!! Warning: SPOILER ALERT !!!







Don't say I didn't warn you. 😅



f8m47nu905.png
Source



♠ The Cast ♠

Here are some of the cast members in the movie.

Brie Larson plays Carol Danvers / Vers / Captain Marvel

The star of the movie. She is a human being turned something else, a more powerful one at that.

Annette Bening plays the Supreme Intelligence and Mar-Vell / Dr. Wendy Lawson

She plays two roles, one as the Kree (alien race) artificial intelligence and the other as a rebel Kree scientist disguised as a human scientist on Earth. The latter is Carol Danvers' former boss.

Samuel L. Jackson plays Nick Fury

A CIA agent who meets Vers and helps her in stopping an alien war.

Jude Law plays Yon-Rogg

Vers' mentor and the commander of the Kree Starforce.



♠ The Trailer ♠



♠ Synopsis ♠

Captain Marvel is a Marvel superhero's origin story.

It starts out with our hero not able to sleep, then she wakes up her mentor for a bit of sparring. We see how strong she can be and what planet she's on and what the Kree people are like. Eventually she gets captured by the Skrulls, the enemies the Kree are at war with. And then we learn the so-called enemies are not the real bad guys. Whew. No wonder Carol Danvers' old boss became a rebel.

Next we find out who she really is. To save the Skrulls, Captain Marvel also battles it out with her mentor and wins, gives Nick Fury a modified pager for future emergency and goes off to bring the alien race to the place they should go to.

9s6lsszafr.png
Source



♠ ArtGirl's Review ♠

On it's own I'm not impressed with the film at all. If compared to other Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) movies it's not very high on my list. Captain Marvel is way down there with Guardians of the Galaxy.

◙ Characters & Story

As far as the story goes, probably due to my bias against the trailers and the lead actress, Captain Marvel really did fail to impress me. I mean, I'd say her back story is kinda normal enough. Haha. Blame it on my seeing too many sci-fi fantasy movies/TV series and reading enough books and comics in the same genre. This is what makes me confidently say, nope, Captain Marvel's origin is not that special after all.

Even the twist near the end is so-so compared to Ant-Man's movie plot twist. Not really mind-blowing but okay I'll take it. Give me some Jude Law anytime. Hahaha.

As for the characters, well it's nice to see how Nick Fury and Agent Coulson were back when they were younger. That's the only part I like about the story. As for Captain Marvel... Let's just say based on the way she's portrayed and if I met the character in person, we probably wouldn't like each other. She doesn't have enough damage and angst maybe? Or let's say she's pure like how the Beast from Split calls them. See below.




Even after what she's been through, she's just like Superman and a lot less like Batman. (Oh hey DC characters!) Maybe it's all because she's not as kick-ass as we expected her to be?

If I was to compare the level of amazingness of this film to other MCU movies, I'd say it's very far from Ant-Man or even the Iron Man movies. Wonder Woman is even better imho. 😅

Come to think of it, maybe I'd write a post and rank the MCU movies from the best to the worst after I've rewatched them all again. Or maybe even before I rewatch them... Hehe.


◙ Acting

As far as acting goes... I think the award should go to Jude Law. After all, he's the main reason I watched it, that and the fact that I have to know the story before I watch Avengers: End Game.


uwzrr8m5t1.png
Source


To be fair to Brie Larson, I commend her for her dedication to the role. I guess she did her best. There aren't much notable fight scenes aside from what's already in the trailers but still I'd like to give her credit for taking all those training just for the lead role.

The most notable actor in the film is probably... Uhm... Let's see... how about nobody? 😂 Probably I'll give it to three people: Jude Law, Carol Danvers' best friend and Annette Bening. Also, people all over the net are crazy over the cat but I'm not. Even if I'm a cat lover I'm not impressed. 😏


◙ Cinematography, Production Design & Music

Let's talk about the movie theme music first. It's not too memorable and somehow slightly reminds me of a tame version of Man of Steel's theme or something. I guess it's good enough for Captain Marvel. I mean, it's just her costume that's flashy really. Sorry to the fans but maybe I just don't really like how she's portrayed, especially since I admire Rogue more. (Uhmmm... 😂)

A few songs in the soundtrack are nostalgic but most are not likable. Sad really. I prefer the Alias soundtrack more. Oh wait, I like Celebrity Skin the most. 😆

Anyway since I didn't bother watching this movie on the big screen I can say I'm not overly impressed with the CGI. It is less eye-catching than Jupiter Ascending and is not enough to make my eyes sparkle like it did for the Bifrost bridge in Thor. The graphics are still commendable even if I don't love it.

I did enjoy Goose the cat's scenes where it ate a lot of aliens and then some. Haha.

What's the best part of the movie, design wise? Well the aliens, the time-period look and costumes. Captain Marvel's costume color change is the most spectacular thing in it. Oh and some of Captain Marvel's glowing moments too. Hehe.

6un6ljfscd.png
Source


◙ Rating

Based on what I shared above, here's my rating for each part on a scale of 1 to 10, 10 being the highest:

  • Characters & Story: 5
  • Acting: 6.5
  • Cinematography, Production Design & Music: 8



    So what's the final score? It's 6.5 out of 10 stars for me. 😊

Should you watch it if you haven't yet? Well, you're not really going to miss much except that her powers are from the vital machine core the Kree scientist made.


How about you, did you like the movie or not? 😉

(In other news, I think I'm going to love Shazam... Imma watch it later!)



IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg




WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.



Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist who happens to have a few acting workshops (and a commercial) under her belt. She is also a writer and an online seller. For inquiries on Metro Manila properties for sale, art and/or writing commissions, feel free to contact me.
For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Steem.chat, Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.

Click banners to join


468x60 btc.gif

468x60 bch.gif

AliDropship is the best solution for drop shipping

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Hi there @artgirl!!

Actually I have been meaning to watch it. But I didnt know of the spoilers and the increasing bashers. I am an fanatic Marvel fan. Dont worry I dont bite, everyone is entitled to their own opinions on this matter. I dont pwrsonalky hate those who hate them.

I would rather want to see and check it out for myself. I have to agree that not all Marvel Movies are with up high impact that youd be able to say wooooohoooooooo great!!

As for her acting, maybe she needs more fierce look and an intense appeal for Captain Marvel. After all, people look uo to her so much

Thanks for your honest review. Point well taken and I will keep it in my mind when I got the chance to finally watch it.

Cheers! ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah. Hehe. At least maybe when you watch it you might be surprised if you like it as opposed to my review. 😊

To be fair, based on the latest Avengers Endgame clip, she seems better than in her own movie. Probably because it's her "second" big movie. 😄

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahahaha i just cant wait to watch it! Maybe ill be in for the surprise..

I am currently looking in for the movie links.. hmmmmm...

Posted using Partiko Android

I have not watched the movie yet (have to wait for some pirate to make it available since going to the movies here is a no-no for different reasons). I don't care about the spoilers, though.
I think that the messy movie adaptations of the MU (due in part to copy rights issues) is partly to be blamed for the mixed feelings some fans are having about certain characters origin stories and their adaptations.
On the other hand, when the Avengers movies have raised the bar so high, it is going to be a problem for every single new super hero movie to come to be liked 100%.

Indeed. Let me know when you've seen it if you'll like it or not. 😊

Oh take care where you are. I'm hoping things will get better there soon.

Thank you. I will.
We just got power back (5:20 pm). Blackout since early in the morning

Oh I see. We're currently having a water crisis too but I know these things shall pass. 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi artgirl,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Wow thanks so much. Appreciate it. ❤

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for the review @artgirl.
I didn't watch the movie yet. I'm not really a Superman fan, but I love Batman movies. If she's more like Superman than Batman, I'm not sure whether I will like it or not. If I watch this one, I will drop a comment to let you know ;)

I'm not a Superman fan either. Hehe. Alright. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha ok, so I can expect to see a movie of rate 6-6,5 then.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Haha, well you never know. Maybe it will be a 9 for you. 😆

Posted using Partiko Android

Indeed :) I will give it a try ;)

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.447 which ranks you at #7054 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #13.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Dear @artgirl

In my opinion this was the only "absolute shit" that Marvel produced in past few years.

yours
Piotr

Ahaha. That's harsh. Okay then. 👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Captain Marvel: Not so Marvelous After All

😁 The title of your post made me smile 😁 I'm not a Marvel fan, in normal conditions I would have scrolled through your post but the post title made me read your post. It's a nice, detailed review and honest, above all. You're not far from the IMDb rating, which is 7.2 and yours is 6.5. I'm not going to watch the movie though 😀

Haha. Thanks! 😁

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65090.19
ETH 3379.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.55