Bad Karaoke - Nat King Cole - 'L-O-V-E'

in #badkaraoke6 years ago


For @simgirlsandsnook's contest

L-O-V-E

This is the title track for the very last album that the legendary Nat King Cole ever did. Most of you know I love jazz, and this falls in to what is classified as 'Lite Jazz' (by my definition anyway). It never made it to number one on the Billboard charts because Rock-n-Roll was taking over at that time. Wonderful song though, sweet and simple. Think it's been in a few movies and Sleepless in Seattle was where I first came across it. Hope you like my shitty version. I totally didn't know how the song ended so I just made it up.

His Version

Want to enter? Visit THIS LINK

and get your entry in!
STeeM oN my peoples!


CLICK HERE TO VOTE ENGINEWITTY AS WITNESS BATMAN


DQmYGeUdDTwuzUBDxvDdiAPxzbpA5i36RH4vzQiENpNA3k4.gif
@snook made this badass gif
@enginewitty #thealliance witness.png

Sort:  

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @enginewitty!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Ha ha!!! This is awesome!!!! Thank you so much for performing!!! You are wonderful!!! And you CAN sing! :D

K-Pop dont think so but thank you ladies🤗😇

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @enginewitty!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

This was great - and how much fun!

And yes, as a lifelong jazz fan, and daughter of a jazz pianist, Nat King Cole was absolutely considered to be light jazz in his day.

I always adored the man.

You just earned my vote for Batman. ;-)

Excellent! Glad you enjoyed it. You a fan of any Miles Davis? Think he's one of my favs.

I LOVE Miles Davis - "Kind of Blue" - one of the best albums of all time, and not just in jazz. Jazz masterpiece. And "Bitches Brew," man! Great player, and what heart! Nobody has come close to him on the trumpet, even now. He was truly a one of a kind.

One of my dad's good friends was Bill Evans, the jazz pianist, and for a long time they played at clubs next door to one another on La Cienega, so whoever finished his last set first would go listen to the other one finish, then they'd have a few beers together.

Anyway, as you probably know, Miles Davis played with Evans for years, and they continued collaborating after he left the band, so years later, when I finally "discovered" Davis for myself, my dad was doubly pleased. ;-)

Both Evans and Davis made several albums with Claus Ogerman, who was hands down my favorite jazz arranger, especially in the 70s, and Ogerman's album "Gate of Dreams," is pure gorgeousness, with first rate solos by George Benson, Joe Sample, David Sanborn and Michael Brecker. Great stuff, and if you're into the cool jazz fusion phase of the late 70s, I highly recommend it.

Ogerman also arranged the album "Tequila," By Wes Montgomery, and "Bumpin' on Sunset," from that album, is hands down my favorite jazz song of all time. Of course, I was born on Sunset Boulevard, but no prejudice there, nah. Totally objective. ;-)

One of my favorite things about Miles Davis was what a humble guy he was, which I've found to be the case regarding most really great musicians. Not false modesty at all - he knew every bit of how good he was - but he didn't take all the press seriously.

And I absolutely loved his cameo as himself in "Scrooged," the Bill Murray film. It was a fun film anyway, but with Davis in it, it just made it that much better. His fellow "street musicians" were Larry Carlton, David Sanborn and Paul Shaffer.

I think that was just a couple of years before his death. RIP. ;-)

You have been defended with a 53.85% upvote!
I was summoned by @enginewitty.

This is so great!!! I love how much fun you had doing it!!! :D

Was fun too, girls were dancing while I was singing lol

Hahaha... I will do mine... I will join #badkaraoke

Sweet! Good luck man!

Great post!
Thanks for tasting the eden!

Wow, that was cool
Music is life
My love for music grows everyday
What a wonderful performance
Its just too sad am not really good in singing.
Nice post @enginewitty

Thank you! Everyone has a song in them😀

this is so good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! heheheheheh get it Witty!!!! :)

Got it and good Dreemy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87