Bad Karaoke - The Things we do for Friends.

in #badkaraoke6 years ago (edited)

Bad Karaoke.png

Friends

Friends are very important people even though sometimes, they have very bad ideas. Like thinking that anyone can do bad Karaoke.
Technically, I guess everyone can. But it put me down a road of much soul-searching.

  • For one, I have never done Karaoke.
  • Two, I am technically challenged.
  • Three, trying to figure out something else was going to explode my head.

That was some of it. But then, there was that.

  • I used to sing a lot.
  • I used to like singing a lot.
  • I can sing off-key and not really know how to get back - my sister pretty much has perfect pitch and is a professional singer.
  • I am a Soprano - most people don't like to listen to Sopranos.
  • All the songs I know are in German and mostly classical type of music - most people don't like classical music.
  • I haven't been singing for a while and don't like my voice right now.
  • I need to figure out why I haven't been singing.

As you can see, there are so many reasons for me NOT to do a Bad Karaoke entry.

But did I mention friends and how important they are?

@snook is a really good friend and she is very important.

And very patient. It has taken me weeks to finally do this. Very low tech and definitely bad.

Here it is. Blame snook 🤪

Since this is a song which was written in 1928 by Berthold Brecht, I went with the silent movie filter. I should go with silent too LOL

I am singing (hah, not really) along with Hildegard Knef who was a famous German singer and actress. You can read about her here

The text:

Und der Haifisch, der hat Zähne
und die trägt er im Gesicht
und Macheath, der hat ein Messer
doch das Messer sieht man nicht.

An 'nem schönen blauen Sonntag
liegt ein toter Mann am Strand
und ein Mensch geht um die Ecke
den man Mackie Messer nennt
Und Schmul Meier bleibt verschwunden
und so mancher reiche Mann
und sein Geld hat Mackie Messer
dem man nichts beweisen kann
Jenny Towler ward gefunden
mit 'nem Messer in der Brust
und am Kai geht Mackie Messer
der von allem nichts gewußt

Und die minderjährige Witwe
deren Namen jeder weiss
wachte auf und war geschändet
Mackie, welches war dein Preis?

Und die einen sind im dunkeln
und die andern sind im Licht.

Doch man sieht nur die im Licht,
Die im dunkeln sieht man nicht.

Doch man sieht nur die im Licht,
Die im dunkeln sieht man nicht.

You can Sing Bad Karaoke Too!!!

Hop on over to @snook's and @simgirl's bad karaoke account and find out all about it. There are a few rules and such, but I am pretty sure that if I can do it - you can do it too and much better!!!

This is where your drop your entry

Seemit band.png

Join us for the daily 5 - Minute Freewrite. Check my profile for a new prompt every day.

Seemit band.png

All images are my own unless otherwise cited.

Seemit band.png

My recent posts

A Family BBQ

My Little Free Library

Weekend Freewrite

A Gift to Myself

Day 222 - The Daily Prompt

Would I start a Steemit Clone

Day 221: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday - Prompt: detective

If you find a post after the seven days, please consider upvoting a more recent post.

Seemit band.png

Socalsteemitbanner2.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord!

Imgur IOW COLOR LOGO.png

art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

SS-pansies-EN.jpg

Award by @japhofin8or

thealliance_mariannewest.png

Thank you @enginewitty for the banner

Seemit band.png

WITNESS_enginewittyGIF.gif
Click on the graphics to vote for Enginewitty as a witness

Join us at the Freewrite House for fun and games!!! Weekly drawing for SBI memberships and so much more!!

Freewritehouse-footer-400px.png

Other ways to earn cryptocurrency

I will benefit if you use my links

Join Mana - Universal Income Project: https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=179a62831e
Listen to bitrad.io and earn Bro: https://bitrad.io/?ref=97511
Want to earn sweat coin by walking outside? Join here

Listen to the Sustainable Living Podcast here!

Sort:  

You get huge points for bravery! 😂

hahaha - thank you :)

I SO LOVE this.

You are better then you think!! :D

Thank You for doing this!!!!!!!!! <3

Love YOU!

Sorry, it took me so long LOL. Hopefully, I will be faster for the next one 😘

I thoroughly enjoyed this performance! You sing very well and I can tell you like the song!! I am so glad you worked up the courage and your head did not explode!!! I understand the the high voice and the tech difficulties.

Thank you so much!!! That is so sweet of you to say!! ❤️

I don't think you should feel self-conscious. You did wonderful. I have been singing karaoke in the Steem Schools Business Movement discord. The group has people singing in karaoke school every night in all different languages. You are welcome to join us. No cameras required. :)

https://discord.gg/T94XrX

Beautiful Job!! It's over now so you can put color back... Oh No!! Well permanent marker comes off...eventually... Cheers! :-))

Yes, when you reach a certain age, all the color is gone...

Woot woot @mariannewest!! Good job 😁

Thank you 😉

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by mariannewest from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Thank you for being so patient! We’re slowly catching up with our SP! Almost There!

Most recent user guide released on: May 14th

As a friendly reminder, the current upvote fee is $0.12 SBD ($0.121 for incognito). Current 300%+ upvote is now $0.36+ SBD.

Join our 10 SP Challenge!!!

Simply click this link to delegate 10 SP Now!

Or delegate any of these other amounts and make a "striking" return on your investment!
50 SP --- 100 SP --- 200 SP --- 500 SP --- 1000 SP

That being said...

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky. The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy, rewarding it with a 300% upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Increase your chances of a 100% upvote and support the project by:

Investors who delegate SP to @thundercurator are entitled to 75% of @thundercurator income after curation. Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28