Baikal X10 - which pool to use, mining-dutch vs miningpoolhub

in #baikal-x6 years ago (edited)

There is a problem with Baikal miners, it is not really allowed to switch algos using their api. As I'm using Awesomeminer to maintain my mining machines it would be great to handle my Baikal X machines also by Awesomeminer. It turned out it is not that easy, as baikal doesn't support algo switching.

I've found that nicehash and miningpoolhub can handle algo switching simply by killing the algos which are not the most profitable. In case of nicehash, you should add 'enable-nicehashsma: true' option and your machine will handle switching automatically. However based on my first few days experience, nicehash was always legging behind in terms of daily profit. So I've tried other pools.

Miningpoolhub follows almost the same route as nicehash. You are able to create socalled hub workers. A hub worker will allow only the pre-defined algos which is I really like. I've set Myriad-Groest, Qubit and Skein. You should add these pools to your mining pools directly on your Baikal X. As I've mentioned earlier you don't have to bother with the priorities as it will be handled by the pool. Only the best pool will be alive, the others will be dead. So your Baikal X will automatically switch to the most profitable algo. You can always check which algo is live at the very moment here: https://miningpoolhub.com/?page=statistics&action=autoswitches.

It sounds nice. I was happy with it. The very problem is that, miningpoolhub has only a few coins to mine based on these algos. That's why I've turned to test mining-dutch as well. Based on awesomeminer's online service report, mining-dutch algos are better than miningpoolhub's. The only problem is that, it hasn't has the hub worker function, so basically you have to check time to time which algo is the most profitable and change it manually.

I wanted to know how important is always switching the most profitable algos. Is it going to make more profit on a daily bases, or it is better to leave and let just mining on mining-dutch with one selected pool.

I've decided running a test and let you know my experiences. I have 3 machines. I'm testing the following settings:
1st and 2nd Baikal X: running Mining-Dutch skein algo
3rd Baikal X: running Miningpoolhub.

I've started the test, I will let you know the results.
Stay tuned if you are interested. Should you have any other suggestion or idea, please also let me know!

Sort:  

@loopcrypto, I gave you an upvote on your first post! Please give me a follow and I will give you a follow in return!

Please also take a moment to read this post regarding bad behavior on Steemit.

Congratulations @loopcrypto! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70846.59
ETH 3567.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79