Unda Rockstar ExplosionsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #band6 years ago

I’ve been a little hesitant writing about last nights gig. It was one to remember, but not in a good way…..

fh2.jpg

There is a fine line playing music together between being friends and being clear about all the details. As you play more with the same people the trust gets more established, and then you start feeling a little uncomfortable asking about things like money and time.

I guess with this group last night things came to a head from a number of different fields. All the stars aligned, and got wiped out!

IMG_5095.JPG

One thing I know about rock musicians, is the idea of living that rockstar lifestyle. The chicks, the booze etc. And although I haven’t drunk for about 8 years, I remember what it’s like.

There’s a point when you know that if I drink this beer or whiskey, I’m not not going to be tipsy anymore. Alcoholics possibly don’t see the line so clearly. But then it becomes a question of priority.

Do I want to play my original music well? Or do I want to get waisted? Well… last night the later was chosen and as the straight guy…. Not so good for me.

There were some problems with the sound of course. Some confusion also about how the songs should be played.

Shanghai (and China) has such a different music scene. A lot of musicians don’t put the rehearsal time in, because well… to be frank quality isn’t always the top factor in getting a gig here. A lot is unfortunately based on image.

Anyway, it is what it is. But the point I’m making is that musicians can get away with being a little sloppy here. There’s more to be said about this topic but that will have to be for another time.

IMG_5089.JPG

So coming back to the gig which was in Suzhou (about 80km from Shanghai), a cool little venue named ‘Unda’ hidden away in a park. Really nice modern style, a big stage, and an outside section on the lake.

First set we were having trouble with the sound. There was also a bit of a language barrier asking what exactly was needed with the sound guy too. We tried to fix that for the second set, which I thought was much better. But by the 3rd set, the alcohol was in full control and it was just a mess.

When the band leader is toast, there’s not much you can do. Just try to be prepared for the unpredictable. These moments, thoughts come into my mind questioning what am I really doing with my life….haha

IMG_5101.JPG

After the gig there were a few more things that created tension. One of the main ones was to do with the money. I think it’s important to keep things professional and alway know what the deal is. This hasn’t really been the case with this project.

hfd1.jpg

You know… you want your friends original music to succeed and to be a part of that is fantastic. But even still, you need to just be straight and honest about the deal or it just creates unwanted tension.

By the end of the night it kinda boiled over into a bit of an explosion. It was a long day for all of us. I had the other gig in the afternoon, then took the speed train out to Suzhou. We were all tired, pissed off, drunk, not paid and hungry.

We had finally after waiting a couple of hours found a car to take us back to Shanghai. 4 guys were about to be crammed into a small car, I was surprised the instruments fit in the boot (bass, guitar, keyboard and trombone). We were almost all in when a massive argument broke out and 2 of us had to get in another car. A lot of yelling and carrying on. I have to say the Chinese driver was so cool and calm. If that were me driving these guys I would have just left straight away!

So we got back the next morning and I missed half a day sleeping, and the other half pissed off.

It’s all good...life goes on. I just need to think if I really want to be involved in this project (or similar projects) anymore. My line is that if you’re playing your own music, thats the top priority.

My problem is that I’m not strong enough to shield the negatives of an environment. I guess that's why people say should surround yourself with positive people. And it’s true. The environment you live in rubs off on you, and then positive change happens without you even realizing it.

This will be one to look back and laugh, but for now I’m taking some breathing space. There has sinse been a digital apology. I tend to weigh actions heavier than txt messages though....

msg.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81