"Ko-May The Jazz Pianist" Review for Bands About Bands Contest S02E01

in #bandsaboutbands6 years ago (edited)

Shibata Ko-May @ko-may is a positive man and a very talented piano player. He started to play piano when he was at the 3rd grade. He listened music almost everytime at home because he states that his mother was a hairdresser and doing her job at home that's why there was music all the time for him. For three years he studied piano and his special skill was playing a flute while playing the piano. When he started to high school he had big crush for Rock Music but those times rock music was considered as bad music. He was dying to have a drums but he couldn't convince his family to get one and worse; got prohibited from rock "bad" music by his parents. While in college he wanted to be a part of the music section cause he thought he could play drums and guitar as much as he wants but the orchestra chief wanted him to play piano aaaaaaaand he became a jazz pianist there. He didn't know anything about jazz back then so he started from scratch. After graduation, his girlfriend give him an advice to study in USA. She said it will give a good direction to his piano education. Then he decided to go to Berklee College. He graduated from Berklee 30 years ago. Let's put the past behind and concentrate on what he is doing now. I already know that he released an album but couldn't find it on any platform to listen but he is going to release his second album on 15th of June this year. I'm really excited about it. He also releases educational videos on Youtube

I reviewed his improvisation on my blog post thats why I'm going to review a video with a doll singing next to him. You can watch the video by clicking here.

If my ears had a mouth they would say "I'm full, thanks Ko-may" after watching the video. I love to listen his syncopated touchs while performing. There is a positive energy with a cute doll singing in front of his smile which could be very fun for kids to watch.

By the way while writing this I found his "Jazz Rocket" album on Itunes and listening it now, already listened 3 songs from there let me also review one from there.


The Setting Sun from JAZZ ROCKET album.

Source of Picture is on the song link

Review: The genre on the explanation was saying it is a J-Pop song. I thought I never listened J-Pop but when the notes entered YES YES YES I know this sound from Animes. Song has a very relaxing feel while listening to. I have dreamed of sitting on a bench watching the setting sun and thinking about my girlfriend. Melodies on song are varied and has a warm feel. While writing this I think its my 4th time listening it. It is surprisingly good choice before going to sleep.


Mr. @ko-may it is very nice knowing you!

You can reach him from the following links

Apple Music

Youtube

DSound

DTube

DLive

Website

Don't forget to get involved in BandsAboutBands contest, you can see the details by clicking here

Sort:  

OOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!
Thank you so much!!!!!!!!! for checking out me and introducing me
I will introduce this article on my blog and my friend.

That'll be awesome @ko-may :-) Feel free to join episode 2 next week, just check our blog!

Your post received an upvote by the @illuminati-Inc music curation team and its partner @curie.

You may consider voting for the Curie witness; all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations including but not limited to more than 10 curation teams (vote here).

Hey Thanks! Already a witness for @curie thanks again for your big supports on Steemit Community :)

Cool, thanks for your support.

Thanks for your entry @allbums! Very fun video indeed, controversial to say the least ;) Stay tuned for the voting round on May 12th :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64799.61
ETH 3102.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83