Banksy's artwork self-desctructs the moment it sold for $1.4 million at Sotheby's

in #banksy6 years ago

What is value? What do we consider valuable?

Mr. Banksy makes us take these questions to a whole new level with his brilliant stunt. Or giant middle finger. Or whatever.

A second after his artwork was sold at Sotheby's for $1.4 Million, it self-destructed in a shredder, that he had built in "just in case". 😂😂😂😂

Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 18.48.24.png

But what most people wonder now, is, "Is this painting now worth more or less than before?"

Poor buyer?
Or lucky buyer?

What do you think?

It's fun to scroll through twitter for the hashtag #banksy today :)

Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 18.58.11.png

Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 18.57.49.png

Screen Shot 2018-10-06 at 18.57.30.png

Sort:  

I think it is a brilliant commentary on taking a closer look at what we value in the world.

Art is in the eye of the beholder, right? :) My guess is it will become even more valueable now. A half shredded painting with a unique story is something you don’t see every day :)

I honestly love his humour and consistent 'fuck you' to people wanting to buy/own his works :')

I actually have to study up on him- I know his name but I only really noticed him now. If he did this purely for attention - it worked on me ;) I do want to know how he pulled this off, though. How did he trigger the shredder???

LOL! Find his 'coca cola ad' and you'll immediately understand his vision. I think he might be the best artist of our time. Provocative and playful. Enjoy reading up on him, you won't be disappointed :D

(Or her by the way, no-one knows. Part of the fun.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63519.79
ETH 3073.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82