Barry Island, South Wales

in #barryisland5 years ago

This is about my day out to Barry island. Winter.

Barry Island isn't actually an island but a peninsula and seaside resort. The picture below shows what Barry Island means to everyone that knows it.

I first went there with my grandmother back in the nineteen fifties by bus for a day out, in the summer, and the first thing was get down on the beach and run to the sea and paddle. After a while of that it would be on to the donkeys and then have a cup of tea, after which it would be into the fun fair and have fun.

IMG_9677.JPG

My favourite fun ride was the crazy railway that went up slow but down really fast.

IMG_9766.JPG

My trip there this time was in winter and it was cold and windy, but the sun was out and in the shade it was warm, most especially after walking so far taking photos. There's always seagulls by the sea.

IMG_9733.JPG

Here's an old boat in the harbour and rotted away. It may have been the boat I went to look at 25 years ago meaning to buy, but it wasn't in a good state so I left it.

IMG_9645.JPG

There's a pirate theme in Barry now so I guess there must have been pirates around at one time.

IMG_9739.JPG

And where there's pirates there's treasure.

IMG_9755.JPG

And skeletons of course.

IMG_9743.JPG

Dogs are allowed in the winter which makes it a dogs paradise.

IMG_9704.JPG

Changing huts up the other end of the beach where it's a bit more private.

IMG_9709.JPG

Saw this in the harbour and thought it interesting.

IMG_9754.JPG

A seat on the knap alone by the sea.

IMG_9659.JPG

It was a really nice day out by the sea.

IMG_9691.JPG

Images by me and taken around Barry Island

Sort:  

Looks like a beautiful place to hangout!

Yes, it's really great there for a day out. It's Winter now though...
smll99.jpg

what a great photo shot.. I love your post.

Thanks. I spent the day there and just walked as far as I could and took photos

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wales from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

It looks lovely there. I've driven past many times as I used to visit Cardiff Airport a lot many moons ago. Wishing I'd popped by seeing these photos.

It is nice there and the airport certainly is close as can be seen by the flight coming in to land in this photo...
IMG_9684.JPG

Wow those images are stunning. I have a few favorite, the silvery ocean, the rotting boat, and that interesting container with the net, ( I would have grabbed it after taking the shot to bring home :p)

Those are perfect images and poetic. Thank you for sharing!

It was a good day for me and I saw lots of things. Here's another boat from my day in Barry...
IMG_9631.JPG

Lovely! I love the look of the water being silver.

lovely post

Thank you
IMG_9714.JPG

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thanks, it's great and I'm honoured

thanks for sharing the nice foto

You're welcome, I'm happy you liked it

Gosh, look at that! I spent many childhood holidays at Barry Island, because my grandparents lived in Barry. I probably got sunburnt many times too, because towards the end of our stay my sister and I would be peeling my skin and having competitions on who could get the biggest piece!

A visit was never complete without a trip to Barry Island Pleasure Park and freshly made donuts. It looks like things have changed a bit. I don't remember a pirate theme. The last time I went was likely in the early 90s.

Posted using Partiko Android

I too spent many happy childhood days there. It has changed, but not too much; and of course it's Winter so there are not many there except the dog walkers who will be banned from the beach in around 6 weeks
IMG_9705.JPG

There you go! Good to see @travelfeed recognising this. Great story telling with words and photos - looks like a fun little place although I'd personally be running away from that beach with the sheer amount of canines on there! Thanks for sharing this little adventure!

Yeah, it's dog walkers paradise this time of year. It was nice to get out for the day. Travel is my favourite thing and as soon as the money comes in I'll be off again...
IMG_9751.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85